December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Raoul V. in You Are Ze Villain!

by Grungi Ankhfire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Paris, 1914.

Step in the shoes of a disoriented man with a mission: to kill a certain person. But in order to do that, he will have to collect information from the pages of his notebook scattered around the block. Be ready to take some notes of your own, or try to keep all the information in your head!
Then, if you kill him, try to reach the border of the map and exit the city!

NEWS:

- Windows versions are both good to go! Sorry for the problems.

- I wrote a big-ass post-mortem : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/17/raoul-v-sends-his-regards/

TECHNICAL:

A rare bug can put you in a problematic situation at the start. Just relaunch the game and it should be fine. Happened maybe 3 times out of the ~100 times I ran the game.

The controls are explained inside the game (and in the README.txt), but a bonus : You can skip dialogues by pressing "enter".

Have fun!

(Oh, and I do have goats in there somewhere... In a way...)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#59Mood3.55
#128Theme3.75
#128Overall3.45
#129Audio3.16
#209Innovation3.20
#244Graphics3.25
#330Humor2.63
#358Fun2.85

Comments

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:43pm

Looks promising! Really want to try this game.. cant get it to start tho, just get a black screen for half a second then it shuts down, any help?

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:54pm

I thought only I have so bad luck... The game doesn't want to start, the window just appears and diappears. Does it work on 32bit Windows7 ?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Holy crap, did I install a 64-bit windows on my virtualbox ? It's been a while, I'm not sure...

I'm so sorry guys! :\ I will get this sorted.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:36pm

The windows version is fixed, sorry for the inconvenience. It was a dll that didn't get packed with the rest. It is now included in the download.

theGiallo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:06pm

It's dependent to your version of dynamic libraries. Try to incude them in the zip or to compile it statically.

It's saying me
./raoul: /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.14' not found (required by /tmp/_MEIS3O5Lt/libz.so.1)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Yep, had a report of that this morning for linux. Problem is it's a python program, so compiling it is not really an option. And it doesn't seem to find the .so when I include it in the folder. So I'm trying to find another way to make it work.

HeXoT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:11pm

It is hard to guess who your objective is with everything being black and white.

Anyway, I dissapeared from the screen when I reached 1 ammo left :|

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:35pm

@HeXoT : Thanks for trying it out. That's a new bug :) Too bad it prevented you from playing to the end! I do agree there should have been a graphical representation of the info you had so far somewhere so you could better see who you need to kill. Thanks again for playing and for the feedback!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Can't play linux/windows games...

jmaasing says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:43pm

Sorry, can't rate since I don't have glibc 2.15 but Yay linux-version :)

delpes says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Can't run this on win7 64bit. Game starts, is non responsive and i have to close it. :/ Linux working?

epiplon says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Great game! Love how the film style matches the epoch and the music immersion.
So, to add things, I wished that I could review my notes and the game informed me somehow that I shooted the wrong guy.
Yeah, I couldn't finish it, I guess...

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:28pm

I want to try the game out but it doesn't work on Windows 7 - 64bit

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:52am

Nice game, nice graphics and ambient. Nice story. Some of the game mechanics were not working for me. For example, I had zero ammo, but still could shot anyone. Everything is frozen if I don't press any key. Nice work!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:30am

@Rex Peppers: Unfortunately I haven't been able to do a Mac OS version yet, sorry :s

@jmassing: Ah too bad, I tested the Linux one to work with a clean Ubuntu 12.04 install, I need to do the same with the Linux 64 one. Was it the one you tried?

@delpes & Blodyavenger : I'm working on it, should have a Win64 version up. Sorry :( (and delpes, as I said, I tested the game to work on a 32 bits clean install of Ubuntu 12.04)

@epinion : Thank you for the feedback! Those are two of the features I had to cut due to time, but I completely agree. Though apparently I forgot an "if", and you are still able to kill people without ammo XD

@ceronman : Thanks for the nice words. I didn't know I screwed up the ammo check though, I guess it's a "cheat mode", I could call it ? :)

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:56am

As others have echoed, I too cannot run it on a 64-bit windows 7 system.

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:20am

Again as others have mentioned, does not run on a 64-bit Win7 system.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:33am

I've got my hands on a Win64 machine right now, I'm building a version for it! :)

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:02am

Boo, doesnt work on mine (win7 64b). As a Parisian, I wanted to see how you pictured it :/

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:05am

Looking forward to the 64-bit ver.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:47am

Apparently it is caused by an "access violation". I'm completely inexperienced with Windows, BUT I have a workaround that I will implement right as I come home from work (I spent a couple of hours on it and only found out the possible remedy minutes before leaving). Thank you so much for your patience!

Patacorow says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:46pm

I can't open it! :(

Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:34pm

@Patacorow : Are you using Windows 64 bits? If so unfortunately it's normal! I'm working on it!

Patacorow says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Yea :( I'll wait!

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:29pm

"Could not find main class: EpicEngine." :(

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Oh actually, I reported the wrong error. I just see a black screen for this one. A different game had the other error. :)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:04pm

Didn't run here (Not Responding). Windows 7 64 bits.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:27am

Ok it should run fine on Windows 7 64 bits. If it doesn't, I will cry myself to sleep in a corner of my room ^^;

Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:11pm

It runs fine on my win 64bit now, don't cry :)

I really liked the game. I killed someone, got the "aaargh" screen, so I thought I had killed the right person but apparently not since the police came, then I got lost not knowing what to do. Also really cool music.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Nice mood, style and graphics. Could not move when the police started chasing me?

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Cool idea. Wish the camera and motion were smoother as you stepped from tile to tile. Reference old school RPGs from square, they've got this perspective and style downpat. The music was great. The concept was very cool. Spent a long time before I figured out to click to shoot.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:41am

Hm, both 32/64 builds unresponsive on Win7/64 :/

Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:59am

@lucas-b.eyer.be : Thanks! Indeed, the "aaaargh" dialogue comes up when you kill the right guy. I'd guess you pressed enter and skipped the dialogue, because the text says that you need to escape the city. I could have clarified (and did it in the description on this page), but that means you need to reach the border of the map.

@dj_pale : Strange, never encountered that bug. Thank you for playing and for your kind words though!

@cwilloughby : Thanks, you're right that the movement doesn't feel very "juicy" yet.

@Dark Acre Jack : Nooooooooo :( Well, I will try your suggestion and record a playthrough (or two or three, to show the various endings) and link it on the top of the page.

OU GDA says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:29am

Really good game and I actually learned something ^__^. Loved the art style and music. Would have been nice to be able to revisit notes. I kept forgetting what they said. I could also keep shooting when I ran out of ammo.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:45am

Very cool!! I lost the first few times but it's pretty easy if you pay attention, and I was happy to learn the secret at the end (and probably will remember that forever now). Maybe my favorite interpretation of the theme yet.

The controls are pretty awkward (arrows + space + mouse needs three hands!) so fortunately you can take your time. Music and style was great. On windows, the 32 bit version should suffice for everyone, including 64-bit users. Right?

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:47am

(oh, I see that people do have trouble with the 32-bit version... I don't know what's going on, except that a 32 bit binary should be able to work. Oh, well.)

Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:51pm

@OU GDA : Thanks for trying it out! Revisiting the notes is the top thing I would have added if I had time. Let's consider the 'bug' where you can shoot without ammo a balancing feature? :D

@Tom 7: Thank you too for your very kind words. The issue with the 32 bits versions was with the audio decoding lib apparently causing issues with the security mechanism of Win 7 64 bits...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]