December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sleeping Dragon

by ethankennerly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Do not let peasants or knights steal your gold.
Release space bar to eat a peasant.
Or you can release mouse button.
Hold and release space bar exactly when eyes turn yellow to breathe fire.
To make it harder, play 2x speed: press Shift+2.
To make it normal again, play 1x speed: press Shift+1.

Post-compo:
Peasants twice as tough. Fire burns one. Double score.
To make it insane, play 4x speed: press Shift+3.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#210Theme3.55
#359Humor2.55
#379Fun2.82
#394Graphics2.85
#403Audio2.30
#449Innovation2.67
#539Mood2.45
#563Overall2.64

Comments

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:21am

Cute little game. Took very little time to pick up and figure out, and in no time I was roasting all my peasants with fire breath.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:25am

The fireball is a bit too easy to spam, but I really like that the adventurers have to take the gold back out of your cave - that's a pretty fun idea!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27am

Pretty cool. Like a little 1D tower defense game.

Ashkin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:45am

Interesting one-button game. However, it's not particularly difficult- it was easy to just continuously breathe fire with a little timing practice. The mechanic, however, is sound. With improvement and polish, it could make a really cool game- fitting for a mobile platform or the like.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:44am

@JoeProgram and @Ashkin, yeah a perfectly timed fireball (bright yellow) does 3 damage and dominates other actions. If I continue to develop, I had in mind to add a couple of new units, tuning to timing and damage, and advanced scenarios in which spamming fireball loses. If you have other ideas or feelings around that, I'd listen to those also.

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:51am

Nice and simple.

I agree with Ashkin. Maybe a minion could occasionally arrive to pick up dropped gold and return it to the back of your cave? He would be immune to being eaten, but as cookable as the others. :)

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:42am

haha, that was funny. I liked the spiked food. Got me by surprise!
I like the dimensions of your game, it was different.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:37pm

@ilo A minion that returns your gold and gets toasted by fire. What a hot idea!

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:49am

Fun concept and fun to play. Well done.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:57am

Thx for this game.
It works and the fun is there !
nice

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:38pm

I found x1 speed is a little slow for me, x2 is much more fun!

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:20pm

First one button game I see in this compo! Oddly I find these hard to pull off, but this one works rather well.

A point I'd like to remark on: Especially at the beginning, there's so much pause between the peasents. I don't want them to MOVE faster (with Shift+2), just more frequently at the beginning.

Multiple attacks might be interesting? Or maybe actually multiple keys, if you are not too attached to the one-button approach. Right now, fireball is rather easy to use and seems to kill most attackers rather easily.

(The spiked food is a really nice touch! I only found out about it by reading the comments though, for I rarely use bite.)

All in all, a job well done.

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:16pm

This was very well done! I love the simplicity of the concept.

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:16pm

Hi!
Nice game, it would be nice if you cast 2 or more bones with random speeds instead of those.
I like the way the dragon is lying trying to take a nap :D. good luck!

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:11am

Nice little game. First run I was beeing overrun just a vew seconds before end and I had only one gold left. Good balance, I would say ;-)

Sestren says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:01am

Reminds me a little bit of the board game "Don't Wake the Dragon" from the dragon's point of view. The fireball made it a bit too easy, but roasting the peasants was fun!

chrismwaite says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Fun little game. Like the concept. I found it a little easy.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]