December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dicktator Simulator

by barigorokarl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You've got them damn rebels!

Now, shoot 'em all!

If only you didn't drink that much.

------------------------------------------

Shoot all the gray guys. Let the green ones live.
You win, when you've killed all the gray rebels, you lose, if time's up or all the green guards are killed.

Best played with a gamepad.

Keyboard controls are:
wasd + ctrl for fire

(sorry for not putting a mute in ;-) )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#50Humor3.66
#90Audio3.34
#183Theme3.62
#272Innovation3.07
#389Fun2.80
#398Mood2.71
#511Overall2.73
#563Graphics2.40

Comments

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:59pm

It was a bit fun ! Good idea, +1 for the song !

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Funny game! The arm sometimes spins such that the camera clips the polygons though.

CptBubbles says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:03pm

The camera and controls make this game really hard. Also it would have been nice if the targets switched positions from time to time. Funny idea, though.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:44pm

The controls are so weird and the gun kept going through the table and off screen but the song was awesome

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:45am

Cool idea. I wonder, if I get drunk and play this, will it be easier?

psychopsam says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:50am

Nice. Loved the drunk cam. Was a little hard to play and get the arm in place sometimes. I managed to kill a row of "good guys". Audio was spot on. Clever idea and well executed if you pardon the pun :D

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:55am

Thanks for the flowers, everyone! I should sing more often (hehe).
@bigbadwofl: no, it isn't. I wonder if dogbomb comes by ;-)

awppy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:03am

This game was FAR more enjoyable than I was expecting it to be based on the screenshot and title. The sounds were great, but the comments when shooting the floor/ceiling/allies was too repetitive.

I wanted to do some silly voice-overs for my own game as well, but ran out of time. Glad someone got some in, though!

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:06am

I think it's a really good concept, though I got dizzy from all the erratic movements. The song and things that the guards say are amusing too!

degtyarev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:15am

Ahahha that fun

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:53pm

Funny game.

pereubu says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:54pm

great idea, hilarious sounds (thumbs up for the song) nice job overall D:

Clavus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:24pm

Bit annoying to play, but fun concept :)

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:29pm

Very fun! nice work! :D

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Ahahahaha that's awesome. Love the VO.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Funny. I liked the challenge of having wavering aim. If you continue to develop, I had trouble figuring out what I was aiming at and where my shot really went.

juaxix says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:31pm

Lots of fun with this one :)

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:39pm

Hahahaha the funniest game I have played here ... Added to favorites!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:56pm

LOL!

azurenimbus says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Oh my god. Hahaha.

Interesting idea, drunkenness affecting gameplay.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:38pm

Good audio and idea, but it seems to be lacking fun.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:41pm

Funny! :) It was pretty fun, too, though I felt that the keyboard controls were upside-down from what I wanted. Mostly I had to wait for the gun to sway over the grey guy, and then I ran out of time. :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]