Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

YOU ARE WASPS

by Hazel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wasps are nature's henchmen. Villain of the sky. Literally the worst organism which has ever existed or ever will exist.

Today, YOU ARE WASPS.

Aims:
World domination, human extinction, annoyance of goats, ruination of picnics.

Controls:
WASD to move
SPACE to attack and fly through crowds

Features:
- Audio which was not even the most annoying audio I could have gone for given that it involves constant buzzing
- Wasps
- Hate
- Some sort of art and code or something
- BONUS GOATS, HOORAY :3

WARNING! Do NOT play this game if you LIKE WASPS. It's not that you won't enjoy the game, it's just that you don't deserve to have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#11Humor4.03
#53Theme3.98
#89Overall3.56
#111Innovation3.51
#118Graphics3.68
#130Mood3.27
#136Fun3.34
#216Audio2.90

Comments

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:49am

Hilarious!

har_g says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:22pm

the guys lose pants :D

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:23pm

What a pity I couldn't control my swarm with WASP. Ha. Ha. Fun game and weird parties out there... MMF, MFM, FFM, FMFMFMFMF... :D

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:26pm

DAMN WASPS... they really are the ultimate villain!

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Funny. Gameplay was fast and dynamic. I like it.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:27pm

Great game! Really fun to play and nice graphics.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:27pm

Funny. My wasps drifted away from me over time and would only attack air so I couldn't continue. Had to turn the sound off… Fun idea with frantic action.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Funny, I liked all the bonuses - I'd have liked it more if there were some sort of challenge to it though

Sam Driver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Really excellent. I love how the wasp swarm moves and pulses in when you sting. Both funny and well polished. Even the music sounds like wasps.
My only problem with it was that the framerate seemed to drop off after a while of playing. Still comfortable to play, but not ideal.

But yeah, really nicely made game.

Jilt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:33pm

So perfect xD

AlexFili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:58pm

Rather fun game, but is pretty strict with the time limit. The level is hard to move around without ending up wasting time slowing down and turning etc. Overall though, great idea!

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:28am

Lovely humour and aesthetic. :)

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:10am

While the game was a little hard to figure out at first, it started to speed up once the time bonuses started accumulating. It got somewhat repetitive towards the end, but it was still challenging to find all of the picnics (I lost with only 2 left). It's an interesting game, the buzzing was surprisingly tolerable, and it was pretty fun overall.

monomanio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Haha, that was awesome. The art is really smooth, and the concept itself is just hilarious!

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:18pm

This one is lots of fun. I love the movement of the wasps, its feels very organic. I'd love a bit more variation in the quips when you sting people - they're really funny :)

_Rilem says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:52am

Great game. Fun and original idea.
It's a shame the wasps get stuck easily, but still fun to do.
I had to stop before I could attack all the picknick groups, because the sound was annoying my boyfriend too much :P
The sound does however fit the game nicely

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:17am

I AM WASPS

I liked how the personal vendetta came out in the introduction and the character graphics are quite charming! :) I stung all those suckers!!

doos says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:28pm

Epic.. Almost got everything but I stung the last picnic before the goat standing right by it.. Bit of slowdown near the end.

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Yeah, really cool game. Had much fun playing it!

Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Truly, 'tis the most villainous if all :D

Love the idea. Movement is a bit iffy. Music is weirdly fitting, but gets a bit irritating after the while. The "You ruined the picnic!"-messages are the best part. Nice work! :)

Patacorow says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:33pm

controls were a bit annoying but otherwise really great game!

Gornova says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:09pm

problems with wasps ?

anyway a good game, not much challenging

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Wow, jaw dropping presentatio, gamefeel, etc. The concept is pretty unique too, nicely done!

Goodeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Bee-utiful(Bad Puns go!). Really amazing stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]