December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Invaders

by huhwhozat - Jam Entry

YOU are the ALIEN INVADERS!

DODGE bullets by pressing SPACE to REVERSE.
If you REVERSE, you won't DESCEND
INVADE EARTH by reaching the BOTTOM

Done in a super-short 5 hours!

I didn't have much time this weekend, but I managed to eke out 5 hours between Fri night, Sat morning, and Mon evening. I'm quite happy with the amount I achieved in that short time, though it could use a few more features and a lot more polish.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1102Coolness17%

Comments

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:12am

I like the concept of reversing roles, and this is a good game overall. However I found it a little boring. At first it's near impossible to dodge bullets so for the most part I'm just waiting for the alien count to start dwindling. I also noticed that one of the original elements was missing, as my army became smaller and smaller they didn't speed up at all like the original game.
What I think should be done postmortem is to add speed increases, enhance the gun AI, and find a way to make the player more involved.

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:38pm

Agreed! Thanks for your feedback! Time is to blame here.

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Good concept. A little slow.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:41pm

Nicely executed idea, I would have liked my invaders to speed up.

tim_u says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:24am

Fun concept. Well done for the time frame. I echo PIXEL^3. One other thing, maybe its just my memory, but I think the original army had to cross the entire screen no matter how wide they were.

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:58am

The reversed spaceinvaders was nice though i had to wait until it got diffucult. Good villainy twist!

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:09pm

The descending is a bit confusing. Otherwise a good concept of dodging.

PaulSB says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Well done for getting something together in that short space of time! The movement of enemies and player certainly fit the bill but the gameplay is a bit lacking.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]