December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Critterrific

by joekinley - Jam Entry

This is Critterrific. A Jam game by me and a friend of mine.

joekinley - Assets (sound, music, graphics)
mlb - Programming / Design

So you are an evil diseased mosquitoe that has to paralyze cute critters in the woods to suck them dry of their blood in order for you to survive.
Though biting a critter means you spread your deadly disease and the critter will die eventually. But not doing that YOU will die. Oh boy what a world.
Don't kill them too fast though for they will procreate and give you enough fodder to survive as long as you can.

Controls are WASD and J or Arrows and X/C/Y/Space for moving and shooting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#56Humor(Jam)3.28
#69Theme(Jam)3.76
#71Fun(Jam)3.26
#78Overall(Jam)3.42
#86Innovation(Jam)3.26
#99Audio(Jam)3.21
#116Mood(Jam)3.06
#150Graphics(Jam)3.29

Comments

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:34pm

I loved this game! It completely capitalised on my fear of mosquitos...

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:54pm

This game is made of win. 5/5

myachin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:00pm

eeeee

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:30pm

Good game, real gameplay. Nice audio!

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:37pm

Really nice, but why do animals start to smoke once stung? Some kind of infection?

eventhandler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:42pm

I like the dynamic of having to balance killing to survive and not killing to ensure there's enough to kill. Does this sentence make any sense outside of my brain?

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Good gameplay. Good job!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:26pm

Like it ! Gameplay is interesting and prod is honest :)

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03pm

Cute animals :)

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:32am

Excellent game! Lovely art assets, and very fun to play! Well done! :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:11am

This was awesome.

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Great job on the audio, i really liked the game

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:54pm

Sucking the vital juices out of fuzzy animals? Sign me up! Bit odd how you get damaged if an animal touches you, the timer itself is ruthless enough I'd say. Good.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:43am

Enjoyed the art quite a bit.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:50pm

Excellent music, great take on the theme, perfect work with the sprites. Nice job.

Maple says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:52pm

This is an awesome concept that you brought to life quite nicely, actually. I loved the recorded sound effects too, haha.

3dwoody says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Great work with the theme. I felt pretty evil as that mosquito!

Jiddo says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Really nice and accessible gameplay. The graphics looked really good and fit the game well. Audio was good as well. My only gripe with it is that it's too easy to accidentally get killed from walking into a critter. Even just some sort of visual effect or animation when you are being hurt by a critter would be very helpful.

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:30pm

Who thought it was so hard being a mosquitoe?

Zed says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:47am

I do actually feel quite bad about killing that goat... Very clever!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]