Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Snap - fishbrain - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I managed another dark LD entry. Go on a shooting rampage - blame the theme I'm afraid. I like to use LD to explore unusual themes, game mechanics, and ideas.

I was drawn to the idea of some interesting game mechanics. Innocent people are worth more points than police, although police can shoot at you and deal health damage.

I was also intrigued by the idea of a "Suicide Bonus". If you die from wounds, you get no Suicide Bonus. If you suicide, you get a bonus based on your current health. But of course, if you suicide, you can no longer score points. So... when to suicide?


And then the Newtown tragedy happened, and made me feel sad and uncomfortable. RIP.

View fishbrain's journal. | View all entries by fishbrain

Ratings

Coolness100%
#23Theme4.14
#26Mood3.81
#63Audio3.43
#183Graphics3.45
#220Innovation3.17
#288Overall3.13
#674Fun2.07
#675Humor1.57

Comments

kivifreak says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 6:30pm

lol, how am i a coward if i kill myself XD
But it is abstract i like it

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Original

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24am

Kivi, The game isn't calling you a coward for killing yourself, but for going out and killing innocent people.

Anyways, a poignant game, and this was truly an unfortunate theme choice given the tragedy in Connecticut. This game does it right though, without glamorizing the deed.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57pm

Pretty creepy, but that's the theme for this LD.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57pm

intense mood, nice work

Mysterarts says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Very uncomfortable! I'm confused... Well done!

Nik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52pm

The game created a very disturbing atmosphere, good job with that.

pereubu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:00am

nice work on the atmosphere, really liked the graphics and feedbacks, nice job 3:

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:58am

I really like the audio and visual composition. The visuals were abstract enough to be able to play the game without feeling sick, while still registering a nice twinge of guilt.

yadurajiv says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:08am

In some way, the confusion was apt for the idea, as if the killers mind could be just like that.

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:46am

Dark, difficult, but simple. Nailed the mood.

Jiddo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21pm

This game made me feel bad for doing what I did. I guess that's pretty high praise and it hit the theme perfectly..

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:22pm

A light gun game on acid!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:24pm

Nicely put together. The sounds/graphics work really well. Incidentally, my own game tackles the same idea, but it's more of a non-game and takes a slightly different viewpoint. And it's blue. :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:24pm

This game has a really nice visual style to it, I've always been a fan of dichromaticism. Though it is dark I thoroughly enjoyed it.

csanyk says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:31am

Despite being insensitive/controversial, it is a great concept for a game that can send a message.

I don't think it was working quite right, because when I played it it didn't seem to give me any points for shooting anyone, other than me. So I only got a suicide bonus.

Graphics, Audio, Mood, Theme were awesome. Wasn't very fun to play due to the scoring being broken, and also because it's such a downer in light of the horrible events of Friday.

Please don't name download files generic titles like "LD25"

peggiosoft says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:32am

I think "Conceptual" is the keyword.

Markavian says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:04pm

I stood there, and shot no one, but it still called me a coward.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:27pm

@Markavian yes you did, it's in the backstory ;)

killmonday says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:07pm

Horrible mood! Loved it. In a very sick absurd way...

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Creepy, like it, it just misses a very little "misleading" introduction imho :)

iandioch says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Wow. A very clever game, presented superbly. You really managed to get a message across. The sound effects were great too.

tomvert says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:44pm

Great mood and sound design. Very interesting, it gave me a lot of ideas. I felt there wasn't enough feedback when you shoot people, you don't know if you missed or not. The suicide mechanic is a great idea too that could be used in other kind of game.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:57am

What does it mean to be a villain? Very well thought out and implemented. Well done!

otus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Cool and creepy! Killing myself for more points is a nice 'shoot'.

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:19pm

This succeeds at giving the villain feeling with the correct mood. Nice experiment. Good job!

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Dark and disturbing. Well done.

char68 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:35am

I agree with the others saying this game makes them very uncomfortable, well done on that front. It almost seemed like the game was done in poor taste, but criticizes the act as it should.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:32pm

I felt so bad playing this game, that even rating it high (which I did) feels wrong. Well done.

YopSolo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:20am

great atmosphere, i feel so guilty now...

Drabiter says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:32am

I agree with all, this is dark and original. This is the 1st entry I given 5 stars for theme and audio. Well done!

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:45am

I would have made a "first act is to suicide" a "win" condition. Was a bit disappointed that wasn't the case. Also would have given a "win" for getting gunned down by police without killing an innocent.

Bonus points for recording the crowd audio, that's always hard to do during compo.

Faust says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:46am

Excellent mood, this is probably one of the best mood creator I played in the jam.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:11am

Creepy Music!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:05pm

ummm... clever and well done. Simple game. Very DARK and SICK

Yacodo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:33pm

Creppy one... can't find my word(s)...

lotusgame says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:11pm

I like the art approach, i mean it's more art than gameplay. It has a very modern style. If the purpose of creating a game is to offer an experience, your game is a success. I like it !

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:01pm

I found the visuals to be interesting and the theme portrayed well. However, I also had some difficulty gaining points for kills.

dev_redant says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Abstract and atmospheric game. I couldn't really figure it out, but the audio and creepy graphics make up for that. Cool game!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Abstract and creepy. You definitely took it to a dark place. Elicits the biggest emotional response of any entry I've played.

illugion says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:56am

This game is really dark o.o

Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:14am

I think considering events of last weekend I'd have stayed away from doing the obvious like this, but this was pretty well presented. The audio (thought we had to make the sounds vs use free ones, but anyway) and visuals were good. The gameplay was average but could be improved (although not sure how as you really want to shoot everything). Maybe the cops, if on screen long enough, would kill you, so they become priority. Anyway, solid title, but a really disturbing time to make it.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:04pm

VERY moody and disturbing. It would be nice if the player image were pointing the gun towards the others and then clicking for suicide could bring the gun up to the head.

aare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:57pm

Very original. I would love to see this idea expanded into the proper game.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:41pm

Very dark, and fits the theme on a very realistic level. Nice job.

Mesene says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:18pm

laggy on firefox and chrome, I'm the only one?
nice mood and audio, I tried to kill miself at start, expecting another end :)

AumaanSnake says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:46am

Disturbing, but true to the theme. The BGM was very creepy.

Floko says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:12pm

awww man, I'm a coward! :(

nice idea =]

Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:21pm

Yeah, the timing of this game is really bad given what's happened in the world lately. On the other hand, the mood and theme are incredible, and the graphics and sound add to the disturbing experience.

This has to be one of the few games I've played where the "Overall" score is higher than the "Fun" because it's really not fun at all, but it *is* powerful.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:13pm

A really dark game. Good job on this.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:40am

I really liked the abstract way you handled the shooting. The theme did come at the worst time so I went the opposite direction and tried to avoid any violence because of the shooting.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Damn, very disturbing atmosphere and conveying the message with abstract graphics that make this playable. Sounds and visuals create a sense of chaos and panic.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:30pm

Excellence in graphics.
In Audio too, I guess you didn't record it yourself, but I guess you "made" it in a way, so, it worth some stars.
This is a clever and innovative entry. Good job!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:53am

Could have executed a little better, but yeah. This is...yeah.

brantkings says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:40pm

I liked the aesthethics. You tried to make us see through the shooter's eyes, I guess, where everything is blurry and meaningless (haha, that sounds horrible but I mean in a very good way!). I think the game would benefit from more feedback from shooting people, both game-wise and story-wise. Good work there!

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:45am

The aesthetics and music make a creepy experience, and the prominent silhouette of the player pointing a gun at his head throughout the whole thing makes it even more creepy.. Awesome game.

Per says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:49am

Very uncomfortable :)
Nice graphics and soundscape!

DavidErosa says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:21am

Dude, felt like on drugs... Really original!

Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Great job!
My only complaint is that I couldn't tell when I had successfully shot someone, or when I had been shot. Perhaps adding some more visual feedback would help?
You did a really great job setting the mood!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:41am

The visual style of this is really cool and certainly unique. I think it needs some work, I believe you have not yet reached the full potential of the game, visually speaking.

The game itself is really interesting, especially because of the suicide bonus. It is a pretty cool idea and it does change the whole dynamics of the game.

But the actual gameplay could do with some polish. There needs to be more of a challenge if you want the game to actually be fun to play aside from the "experience" of it. And I think it works really well just as an experience, I like the ending and the whole idea of forcing the player into this position of becoming a coward.

Really interesting, the timing and all. But we've seen so many tragedies like this, and with a theme like that, it makes sense that someone would make a mass shooting game. I think you handled it very well, though. Congrats.

Gungnir says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:55am

Definitely tapping into a deranged vibe - nicely done, and brave! Could have used more definite visual feedback for successful hits.

ddionisio says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:49pm

The game really captures the mood and gives a nice perspective. Pretty chaotic, I like the muffled gun shot sound, it adds to the detachment of reality for the killer.

Start_ says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:18pm

To say it's well themed would be an understatement, I love how the art creates this uneasy feeling quickly, and the guilt of shooting at a pixel is rather huge in comparison to many other games. This experience is very interesting, and it did avoid the pitfall of glorifying the fact of killing. Congrats!

dragonfi says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Really dark. Conveys it's message well.

I obviously didn't rated humor.

Madball says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:52pm

I think there isn't enough feedback. When I shoot people they don't disappear! Sometimes they continue shooting back.
A great idea for mood, but I think you aren't there yet.

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Controversial beautiful game. Having dead animations/fx would be great, but I understand the time constraints. Congrats, great entry.

leafo says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Interesting concept. Good mood. Nice graphics. My only complaint is that some sort of effect to confirm a hit would have been nice.

chrismwaite says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Interesting concept. Found it difficult to rate. I didn't get much out of it on a "game" level but its visually impressive and has lots of atmosphere.

rylgh says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:28pm

incredible atmosphere, very well done.

PaulSB says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Wow, very dark indeed. You created a disorienting experience very well. The shooting didn't feel too responsive but that just contributed to the unsettling nature of it. Good job.

Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:18pm

How delicously disturbing, the mood in this game is really intense! I liked it, but I think the game had some trouble to register my mouse clicks for shooting though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]