December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Bowtie Versus JZ

by derdragon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well, not as finished as I'd like. Particularly disappointed that I never got sound added. Always some major other commitment in the middle of these things... argh.

Anyways, you play as a pretentious CEO of a corrupt corporation. A young employee of yours has risen against you and is attempting to gather documents around the office to bring you down. You are on the verge of launching your latest diabolical plot and are racing against the clock to keep everyone on task, making you money, before he foils your plan.

Everything is controlled via the mouse. If you move towards the edge of the screen it will scroll either up or down for you. Hovering over a worker will change your cursor to a whip, holding the left mouse button will "charge up" a strike. Guards can be dragged and dropped around to provide more security in certain areas.

I tossed 2 in dev shots for the heck of it.

KEEP 'EM DOWN!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#66Theme3.93
#112Graphics3.73
#113Humor3.33
#141Fun3.33
#153Overall3.40
#209Innovation3.20
#286Mood2.93
#948Coolness32%

Comments

barkergames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:57am

Wow, very fun, though the employee got stuck in the ceiling for some reason.

Awesome job!

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:00am

Really neat idea, the pink thing got stuck in a ceiling though :/

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02am

This game shows that indeed it is possible to make great games in game maker. Keep that up!

vandriver says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02am

this was pretty entertaining, but is there an end? even after i let her steal all the documents/deadline ran out, i just kept making money.

the whip charge-up with the guys' recoil animation was very satisfying. actually the whole thing looks great, i love this sprite style!

csanyk says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06am

I wasn't really clear what I should be doing, so I just whipped the hell out of everyone and brought morale and deadline way down. I'm not sure if I was winning or not, but after a few minutes my clicking fingers got tired and I lost interest. The graphics are really good, but you need sound and a little more to indicate to the player what they should be doing or what their goal is.

Please name your download file something less generic than "LD25.exe" next time. When there's 1000+ games, it's good to have the title and author in the file name.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:09am

Nice execution, even this smooth scrolling feel goods. I suppose the black suit guys were here to keep the dev at work, but it looks that they eventualy become friends and stop working together... I was also unsure if the secretary or the floating documents had a gameplay interest.

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10am

Nice concept. I was able to trap the employee trying to steal the papers in one of the rooms, which made it really easy, but other then that, It was fun.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:36am

Very very innovative. Shame the controls are a little weird to get used to at the start. Definitely enjoyed it!

derdragon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:44am

Oh wow, hello comments.

Thanks for the props on the artwork. Definitely agree with everybody on the "needs a clear goal" bit. I really just hadn't gotten to making that clear. REALLY wanted to get some satisfying noises to accompany the whole whipping mechanic. Believe it or not I DID record a "whoosh" noise using a thin piece of PVC pipe down here in my basement, but there was some static noise in the background, and my wife watching Netflix next to me.... and... I only had about 15 minutes to go until I needed to submit, so that didn't happen.

Again, thanks everyone! Polished or not, it was still fun to make :)

Oh, and JZ is actually a dude. Him and "Mr. Bowtie" are sort of exaggerations of 2 interesting characters I've encountered at work ;)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:26pm

Great game, very nice graphics, the most evil thing I've done.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:15am

Very fun, but there didn't seem to be an end. This was made in Game Maker? That's pretty good for a Game Maker game, I must admit. You should try moving on and see what more you can do with more complicated engines. Overall, I really liked this, felt really evil being the boss, muahaha.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:17am

Is it possible to get a Web/Mac build?

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:21am

Yeah, it definitely needs a goal, otherwise it's a bit pointless.

Waynetron says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:25am

Just love whipping the littler guys over and over again.
Shame that the nemesis can be so easily gamed. I simply stacked all the guard into the same room and they blasted him until he got stuck in the ceiling. Perhaps you need a reason to keep the guards posted in other areas.
Lovely sprite animations.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]