About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 19 hours, 12 minutes, 22 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 19 hours, 24 minutes, 22 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 20 hours, 12 minutes, 22 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dungeon Mastermind - 7Soul - Jam Entry

    In this game you must find the weaknesses of the hero by making him go through you dungeons.

    There are 3 things you need to know: his class, his attack and his elemental alignment.


    Class: If he is better against magic, he is a mage, otherwise he is a warrior.

    Attack: If he has good attack, enemies with shields are easier, otherwise he is better against enemies without shields.

    Element: You need to see what element he is worst against. Use the same element trap and enemy to see if he is particularly vulnerable against it.


    Choose an enemy and trap for the dungeon, then click "Done". The hero will move to the next level, and you can see how much time he took.
    When you're sure what to use for your final attack, choose the "Doom Spell" or "Doom Strike" (doesn't matter which actually) and see if your attack was successful!

    Pro Tip: You have 10 chances, start by testing the element, then move to the attack.


    Also, some goat references here and there.

    I've added a link to download some of the game assets, mainly icons and some unused loot icons.

    Made with Construct 2

    View 7Soul's journal. | View all entries by 7Soul

    Ratings

    Coolness52%
    #15Audio(Jam)3.95
    #19Graphics(Jam)4.35
    #21Innovation(Jam)3.85
    #60Theme(Jam)3.80
    #65Mood(Jam)3.38
    #69Overall(Jam)3.46
    #94Fun(Jam)3.15
    #199Humor(Jam)2.34

    Comments

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:19am

    (Still playing it) This is such a cool mechanic, I really like the design, music, gameplay and feel. Sweet!

    PIXEL^3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:53am

    The graphics reminded me of NES games like Ghost N' Goblins. The music was very fitting and I found it fun to use deductive reasoning to find the perfect way to assassinate the hero. Perhaps something you might want to do is add an icon for element, classes, etc. that have already been deduced so the player doesn't have to scroll through the other dungeons. But it's completely optional and the game functions just fine without it.

    ~AlucardX60

    7Soul says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:49pm

    @PIXEL^3
    That was the plan initially but it couldn't be implemented

    Tommislav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    The graphics and music are really great, and the game fits well within the theme. However I didn't understand how I could figure out how much damage the hero got in each area.

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:50pm

    That's really unique :) It took me a while to understand how to play it but then it was really fun. The music and graphics are awesome :D

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:55pm

    Really unique idea, executed very nicely.

    The only problems that I have with it is the interface - which is very slow and a lack of tutorial.

    I did also have a graphical glitch where all the interface seemed to be replaced by mangled sprite sheets - but I expect that's just my computer.

    Fantastic entry.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:04pm

    Failed to load in Opera, but works in Firefox.

    Audiovisually, this is in the highest tier of entries. The gameplay is fairly unique and simplistic enough not to collapse under its own scope (like many management games in Ludum Dare).

    I feel like the interface is hiding something from me. There's not enough feedback on what I'm doing and whether I'm doing it right, so it's hard to learn. But I guess that's kind of the point in a game about deduction, so yeah.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:04pm

    It was a cool concept, but felt underdeveloped for a jam entry. The pixel art was great.

    7Soul says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:30am

    @Jiggawatt
    The initial idea was to have a part of the hud for you to see more stats, but I had to cut that out to finish in time

    @bitwise-constructs I joined the jam because I wasnt home for sunday, so it's still technically a compo game :P

    Kuulog says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:49am

    This is a really cool game concept, if you understand this game. Bonus points for HTML5.

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:10am

    Wow graphics and music are top ! And it also a very innovative idea. I regret the fact you can't see the solution when you loose.

    JoeCool17 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:24am

    This was absolutley incredible. Do you own and operate a time machine? I'm going to have to ask you to prove that you don't own one.
    The music was incredible and the concept was great. The game's concept was a little confusing at first but it ends up being quite awesome in the end. It's very responsive and well-thought-out too. Definitely my favorite one I've rated so far. I'd love to see this made into a full game, and quite frankly, I'd pay for it.

    iamorim says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:26am

    Great game!! Everything is nice. And I saw you made it with Construct2. I used it too :)

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:30am

    Hi 7soul, I remember you from LD23!!!! Lovely lovely game, it's a real class act. The one thing that would improve it is to show the hero actually going through all the hardships you're putting him through.

    Awesome, very professional, and I lol'd at the intro messages!

    Top marks for innovation, fun, them, graphics, humor and mood!

    PS the font is fantastic, bitmap font or webfont?
    PS2 what an awesome award, thank you!

    FrederickK says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:17pm

    Wow! So smooth! Very well made!
    Congratulations man!

    gnx says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:46pm

    Hard to rate this game. Presentation is excellent, UI works nice and information in terms of the monsters and traps is very clear. However the information as to the actual game objective is a bit obscure and you have to read the description on the ld page a few times to get what is going on.

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:06am

    The gameplay is a little confusing, but the graphics and music are excellent.

    chambers says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:32am

    Nice concept. I enjoyed playing it, though it was kind of easy after a few attempts (first I figured out the element, and then the other 2 traits) An in-game tutorial would have been nice.

    I think the "attack" trait didn't make as much sense as the class and element. Why would a hero with low attack power fight a weak creature better than a hero with high attack power?

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:18pm

    I love Mastermind, although the presentation of it here is rather hard to understand at first. I had to read the instructions thoroughly before I grasped it. Cool graphics, too. Well done.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:20pm

    A brilliant game. Additional info at start would be nice, but until the second play I get was going on and then it is a very interesting puzzle game!

    jfroco says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:46am

    Interesting mechanics. Great pixel art. Sorry I can't rate audio because you didn't make it, but the music is amazing.

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:41am

    Very good, well polished game. Great sound and art, although the background music does get repetitive after a while. ;) Very interesting gameplay mechanic as well.

    marudziik says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:16pm

    @jfroco He also didn't make the music, though it's a Jam entry and royalty-free music is perfectly acceptable.

    The idea is great, the music from incompetech.com really fits the game, and graphics are fantastic. I would like to see this taken further - with some in-game tutorial and some more feedback to the player, this could be fantastic. HTML5 is a plus, though I had to unblock every blocking addon in Firefox to run it without problems. Congrats!

    Houly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:17pm

    I somehow won the first time without realizing what I should do. THe Done button was a little bit hard to find. But the mechanics are great, nice idea and execution. And great graphics.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:05pm

    I had a hard time with the UI at first, not being at all sure what I was supposed to do. After sticking it out though, I found it to be a really fun little game. Up to the end I really wasn't quite sure just how to gauge the effectiveness of the traps but I guess I was correct since I won. :)

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    Deducing efficacy of the monster and trap combination by comparing the completion times interested me. The beautifully crafted pixel art and medieval fantasy music entertained me. If you continue to develop this, after a couple of plays I'm confused on what a better tactic is for deducing the player's weaknesses.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:47am

    I think I lost? The hero made it to the last dungeon but I didn't get any notification of win or lose.

    It was fun to try and find the hero's weakness though the interface wasn't instantly intuitive. A little overview or tutorial would have been appreciated but I can understand the time constraints.

    Hope you develop this further! :)

    cardboard says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:50pm

    Wasn't sure how I was doing at first because I kept getting around 5 minutes for all of them. But then I got over 6 and used the final attack and won :) Very cool game, but not much replayability unless you lose.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:18pm

    Nicely done, I could probably spend a long time playing this.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]