December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Power Grab

by Milo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game, you play as a villain who wants more power, and thus steals artifacts. This attracts more enemies. Thus, in a sense of gameplay, you are your own enemy as you summon your own enemies. So, if a level is too hard, maybe you should consider not taking so many artifacts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#234Fun3.11
#304Overall3.10
#321Innovation2.95
#398Mood2.71
#477Audio2.06
#637Humor1.76
#661Graphics2.11
#692Theme2.22
#817Coolness42%

Comments

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:02am

there's the seed of something that could be really fun here, but i just found the controls too awkward and frustrating for me to get into it.

Logan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:05am

I like the idea that each powerup you take will end up making things harder for you down the road. It's a neat concept.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:26am

Cool idea. Love overhead shooters like smash TV. with some time this could be very entertaining. Loved the pointy stick.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:15pm

The core idea is essentially brilliant, I love how bullet hell is combined with the ability to pay for new skills with increased difficulty. Given enough time this idea can be transformed into a great game.

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:49pm

the sword is epic!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:39pm

I definitely like the idea here. Let's give some bad and good comments.

Bad:
-Graphics are a bit incomplete in areas like the background and title(which has a few typos).
-After a while, having tons of weapons at once starts to not make any sense. Then again, many games don't make sense...
-The enemies get stuck in corners sometimes and behave weird.

Good:
+It's definitely a brilliant concept, and it isn't too hard to imagine this being really great.
+The weapons choosing system works flawlessly.

caranha says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:56pm

Nice music, and a somewhat fun game. The link to the theme is a bit tenous - you could improve it by using enemies that reinforce your idea of "a villain stealing artifacts". So instead of robots and aliens, put in some police officers or something like that!

Thanks for the game.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:59am

Definitely has a lot of potential, do like the bullet hell aspects but it is a little sparse.

ceronman says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:23pm

I like the idea. The game is fun, but a bit frustrating after the third level. I didn't see much of the theme here.

ix says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:01am

I like the idea of self-selecting difficulty (vs) upgraded weapons.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:12pm

For some reason the game wouldn't let me attack, making the maximum score 60.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:45pm

Can't run this for some reason. It shows a black screen and then disappears.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]