December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Animal King

by gabeochoa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a text adventure based on your choices, about a falsely accused dog and his fight to clear his name.

****
This game is in no way finished, but I wanted to submit what I had that way I would get something in.

I may update it later, but with finals coming up, it wont be for a long time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#192Mood3.13
#545Fun2.46
#545Humor2.00
#576Audio1.38
#614Overall2.52
#646Theme2.45
#670Coolness49%
#707Graphics1.91
#709Innovation2.00

Comments

HardScore says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 8:36pm

the story is awesome,and the writing is good.

oldtopman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:23am

Looking past the fact that the game is *very* confusing (it's incomplete, after all), it seems that you've got a pretty solid engine. It has a good "feel" to it, and I like the font.

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:48am

Very nice writing :)

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:39am

I couldn't make it very far.
but if it had a voice-over it could make a good children's game or game engine.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29am

Pretty cool to see a text adventure :)

jujule says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:57am

A truly enjoyable experience. I love the start screen and the font and layout choices. It is not trivial to make a text adventure look good. Too bad you couldn't finish it which make the relevance to the theme not so obvious.

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:34pm

I couldn't tell if the game was looping through previous choices or if it had reset itself, very confusing.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:47pm

Nice to see a text adventure game, I wasn't able to finish it I kept getting back to the start for some reason.

It's good writing though.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:01pm

Nice writing, white text on black background killed my eyes.
I'm not sure I understood the story: At the point I though was the end I got back to the first text.

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Fantastic writing. I wanted to keep playing! Big text adventure fan so this was a pleasant surprise! Well done :)

Nik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:20pm

For what it is so far, it's definitely good.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:15pm

the story is indeed awesome, owever, sometimes the game crahes.

Drabiter says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:18am

I couldn't go far, but this has potential.

goerp says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:28pm

oh dear Java, so for me that means graphical corruption.
unplayable (I do have Java 1.6 but I have a lot of trouble with Java products for LD).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]