Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Grim's Christmas List - stuckie - Jam Entry

My Wife, Octopi, and I worked as a team - Arcade Badgers!
With Octopi taking over Art and Design duties, and myself dealing with Audio and Programming.

We present to you Grim's Christmas List, where you control the Grim Reaper, as he is a bit miffed that he's been crossed off Santa's list for so long that he decides to do something about it.

Unfortunately for Grim, every action has a consequence as he is about to discover.

Controls are: left/right arrow keys, X to jump, and C to use the Scythe.
Collect the presents, smack the enemies, and get through 14 levels of madness!
You'll pass each level once you collect all the presents - though be warned that some of the bigger enemies release more presents to collect!

We hope you enjoy it :)

-- update 5th January --
Just in case you're stuck, there is a level skip by pressing "T"
I've also redirected the link from Dropbox to stuckieGAMEZ where it'll have a more permanent home.
The Source is now pointing towards Github as well.

View stuckie's journal. | View all entries by stuckie

Ratings

Coolness100%
#150Fun(Jam)2.90
#162Overall(Jam)3.01
#192Mood(Jam)2.72
#193Humor(Jam)2.40
#204Graphics(Jam)2.97
#209Theme(Jam)3.05
#217Audio(Jam)2.29
#300Innovation(Jam)2.05

Comments

gnx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:47pm

Basic working mechanics, floaty jumping. Nice enough graphics and the enemy patterns bring a bit of liveliness to the proceedings.

The collision with the people feels a bit random and the level transistion is extremely abrupt, but those are the only complaints I can think of :)

svenardo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Nice work and strong concept.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:43pm

Aargh this is hard! It took me a couple of times to beat satan already, and then there's so much more! Great job :D

Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Wow... Your game is hard... I wished there were some continues :(
Anyway, good job.

octopi says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:28pm

For purposes of seeing the whole of the game, Stuckie kindly implemented a level skip. Press T to skip a level. Though it defeats the purpose of the difficulty of the game. We were going for an old arcade game style that kicks your butt (and takes your money and runs!)the further you get in the game :)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:47pm

Hmm, in the level with the slippery house I cleaned out everything, and then - nothing! I looked in your source and it looks like more should happen, maybe this is a bug? (I don't know Javascript, so hard to tell for me)

stuckie says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Hmm, I managed to get that bug once or twice, but could never successfully reproduce it to figure out what on earth it was. Just use "T" to skip the level if you've cleaned it and it won't carry on.. it's a bug which I'll have to spend some time trying to catch!

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:38pm

I got to the third level in hell and the scythe weapon disappeared. Not sure if this was intentional or not, but made it pretty difficult to proceed.

Other than that, great game! Hard, but completely playable.

dray says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:27pm

i killed santa ! I really liked your game! at first i found it very simple but hey! it's simple AND very well done for me. thanks!

rvmook says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:38am

It was a bit to easy at first, almost seemed like I coudn't die. But in the end it got a bit harder. I like the art to bad it feels like you're using a few different styles throughout the game.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:59am

A very nice and polished game.

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:50pm

Nice to see a game with proper levels :) and one that uses HTML5!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:52pm

I had a lot of fun with this game. A lot of levels to play. Here is my feedback:

- You should make it visual clear if I can jump through a tile or if it blocks my jump.
- After collecting all the presents, there should be a splash screen instead of the instant switch to the next level.
- Sometimes the pixel kind of graphic (character, enemies etc.) doesn't fit with the background (like the cloudy one).
- The fonts are blurred.
- You set the difficulty rampage just right. I never felt it was too easy or too difficulty. I died in one of the later levels by stupidity of myself :)
- I really like the enemies' sprites and the explosion of the many presents after I kill a big one.
- A game with slopes! Yeah!
- Controls felt perfect.
- I know, it is an arcade game, but for a game jam game with testing players, you should avoid something like "Game Over". I was kind of sad as I died, because I can't see the later levels without replaying all the levels... and I have so many games to play and rate here :D so you should consider this change of situation next time and add something like a "Continue?"-cheat.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:49am

Nice job, solid mechanics and graphics - well done!

infernet89 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:10pm

Woha, really liked the "lost one life" animation!
I still don't get the use of the "little contract" object, but i really liked Santa as the ending Boss.
Well done!

schnerble says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:28pm

Nice work :) A good solid bit of platforming action there, with plenty of content, and fun to play. I didn't quite get what was happening when Grim was hurt - was that a ghost or soul coming out or something? Have to admit it made me think of a shark initially :) Anyway, nice one!

Madball says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:54pm

On one side, it's a great game for a jam, it has good mechanics and gameplay, and it's surprising you did so much level design. On the other side, graphics aren't right. You combine simple pixel art with a little palette (enemies), complicated pixel art with a big palette, gradients etc (tiles) and not-pixel art (BG), it doesn't feel right. And tiles have too much seams. But I have a good feeling about this game.

stuckie says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:25pm

Yea, we wanted to get the gameplay and mechanics down right, so we just borrowed the tile and background set from Spicy Pixel's GfxLib-Fuzed ( http://www.spicypixel.net/2008/01/10/gfxlib-fuzed-a-free-developer-graphic-library/ ) as we mentioned in the credits :) It does make a bit of an odd mix of graphics, but the gameplay-tweaking was more important for us.
We're looking forward to continuing with Grim though, and the graphics will be changed for that.

Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:47pm

Nice little platformer. Too bad there wasn't any music in the levels, because the sounds got a bit annoying after a while. You also seem pretty much invulnerable if you press c all the time. But the style was pretty cool. Good job!

Beanalby says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:38pm

Without reading the help first, it felt very backwards - "touching people as the grim reaper should kill THEM, not me!" "Getting +'s as the reaper should be bad, I'll avoid those!" "Why does touching a person make a dolphin leap out?" :) Solid mechanics.

impulse9 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:08am

Very nice. The sounds are a bit annoying but I loved the graphics and the gameplay. Lovely enemies, especially the bosses. :)

Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:05am

There is a lot of content here, and it gets damn hard. I am really glad that the level skip functionality was put in as it allowed me to see all of the content. The story had an unexpected twist, and the sprites were (for the most part) consistent with one another. As others have noted, there were some visual inconsistencies in the backgrounds and text, but this did not ruin the experience. Nice work!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:50am

I disagree with having inertia for the character movement here, but otherwise this is pretty fun. For something like Ludum Dare, you might want to have an option to continue where you left off, so that everyone can experience all of your game regardless of the difficulty curve.

Nice plot twist too xD

DavidErosa says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Lives??? Who dares to reap the reaper's lives??? :)
Nice game, I liked it.

ddionisio says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:12am

Great background and tile art, the sprites felt out of place. :P Still, pretty solid mechanic. Apparently Satan also bursts into gifts. The fact that there are levels beyond that is a nice twist! :)

WiseGAMER says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:39pm

good game , need some music though

Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:29pm

highly accomplished entry. The pixel art an 8 bit sounds are solid.

jfroco says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:08am

Nice game... I couldnt defeat Satan :( but I killed Santa, Should I be proud? Very polished. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]