Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Miniman vs Dr. Malificius

by master4523 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Miniman vs Dr. Malificius, a.k.a how to do a reversed 2d platform game in 48 hours.

Story:
You are Dr. Malificius, an evil demon living in a huge castle.
One day, a little man wearing a blue outfit gets into your castle and starts running and shooting everywhere.
Don't let him go!

Controls:
WASD/arrows -> Move Dr. Malificius
Mouse left button -> Spawn minions
Mouse right button -> Kill a minion
Space -> Pause/resume the time
R -> Restart the level if you're stuck

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#186Theme3.61
#187Innovation3.25
#263Humor2.84
#328Overall3.05
#352Fun2.87
#425Audio2.21
#511Mood2.52
#520Graphics2.55

Comments

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:42pm

Nice AI, funny taunts. But the keys kinda suck IMHO

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:48pm

A role-reversed platformer is a great idea for this theme, but the guy refused to die when his lives were lost (I'm not sure whether it's a bug or I missed something).

soupy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:43am

I like the hero AI and level design, but it seemed rather easy with very little reason to try playing again. The design concept was also very good.

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:44pm

Nice little game, the hero AI works great :D

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Nice AI! And the taunts were really funny!

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:49pm

This could have been a really fun game, with a few more levels / other minion types.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:07pm

Nice AI, but the tutorial level was harder than the actual level since he kills off the enemy you spawn before you have the chance to put a second on the screen.

Tommislav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:50pm

I really liked this game, and the AI worked out very good indeed. I especially liked how the worthless you felt as the boss when the hero constantly killed off all your precious minions X-D

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Nice idea for a game, bit difficult because the hero keeps killing your minions hella fast. especially in the tutorial. Miniman's taunts were nice add.

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:41am

Good job! I really liked the concept and I couldn't help but imagine playing Megaman as Dr. Wily :D

Tyren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:45am

Overall a good idea, but the timer to place a new minion seemed a bit short to me.

bugninja says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:16am

It's OK. I like the idea of being the boss in a boss battle :) Good humor too.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:58am

Very good game, some bugginess but I liked the hero running through the castle, must've been tough to program in this time span. I also like the concept, and it was rather fun if not expanded upon as much as it could have been. But hey, that's what this competition is for, to get things started!

YopSolo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:41am

cool one :)

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:49am

Haha!Captain Megaman!

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:17pm

The AI and his comments are awesome. I had fun playing it. The controls were a little strange, but I liked it overall. Good job with the theme.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:33pm

Cool concept and funny text. Well done.,

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:32pm

Nice game and funny!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:32pm

Nice game and funny! I hate miniman!

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:03pm

A very tricky concept to pull off butyou did a pretty good job of it. A bit on the easy side, the hero always seem to die at the same place but good fun nonetheless.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:16am

The AI is great. Would love to be expansion on the idea. Love the retro look/feel and the homage.

Faust says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:13am

Interesting AI, excellent job.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Nice graphics, good A.I. and a solid take on the theme, well done!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Mega-america vs the red trapeziums of doom. Not sure why I have an avatar in the world as I'm more the force behind the curtains. Kudos for implementing a mini-AI to play through the level. He did get stuck in the center of the 2nd row for me, where he has to jump 2 blocks away. Good!

JFlegle says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:15pm

Love the AI, lots of strategy in this game.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:53pm

Fight, Miniman! For everlasting peace!

Entertaining little experience. As mentioned previously, Miniman appears to get stuck the middle row of the level, where he has to jump two blocks over and above him.

If only Megaman could shoot in any direction like Miniman could...

Dew says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:33am

Fun and fast. Nice game.

dek says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:49pm

Very nice idea. Impressive AI!

raincole says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:25pm

Very good. I like the idea you can pause time.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:35pm

Nice concept, well done, I enjoyed it. Good AI. I liked the graphics too (but would have preferred a different style of Minion).

tcho_i_er says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:00pm

Many humor in this game, the IA was great (but maybe a bit buggy sometime when he has to jump right to left), too bad it's that short but still that's a really great game !

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:06am

It's a good idea !

har_g says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Nice work.

Falkreon says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:12am

Controlled allright, the concept could work... game was extremely short and easy, but the time spent on the AI really did make you start to dislike the hero. Nice work overall.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:08am

Good concept and theme, would have enjoyed some more minion variety, or the ability to spawn more. Having to press enter took my hands away from resting on the default controls.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Good concept, needs more enemy variety and a few cues from tower defense games.

Mesene says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:40am

already said but... nice IA and idea :) wish there were more levels

lotusgame says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:21am

Too bad there is no more levels.. It's cute.

Houly says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Yeah, that was cool. And worked really great, too. Had fun and a nice twist on the platformer genre.

PaulSB says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Great concept! Like the idea of being the unseen villain deploying those minions against the classic platforming hero. I would say the game itself was however quite limited with no great strategy to it. Definite potential here.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]