December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

V I L L A I N Y

by chrisamaphone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A twine game about the nature of villainy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Mood3.71
#129Innovation3.44
#353Overall3.00
#427Graphics2.79
#584Fun2.33
#666Theme2.33
#990Coolness28%

Comments

Porpentine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:32pm

I love this so much

this is now one of my favorite Twines

taking freeform user input and regurgitating it at the end of sessions is one of the things i like most in games

dwrensha says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:26am

I liked the drawing part, especially on when I played it on the ipad.

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:13pm

this is really interesting. i was typing nonsense into the fields and to have them used back at me in interesting ways was very cool. really like this.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Interesting...

jujule says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:59pm

I enjoyed this a lot, both the text and the drawings.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:41am

Very interesting. Nice concept

Gungnir says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:06pm

Interesting game but it didn´t have a lot of momentum and I would have liked to read more about the world.

azurenimbus says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:30pm

Fascinanting and mesmerizing.

chrismwaite says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Definitely interesting. I liked the frustration of feeling you were doing the same things over and over and then slowly revealing options to break out of the routine.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]