December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Burglar!

by Kalakian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

No sound, and only basic gameplay, but the potential is there ... and fun was had!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

ElScootro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:04pm

Couldn't see anything in the play area, it was just black, so I couldn't rate.

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:04pm

Not bad, but as you note it's pretty incomplete. Even some very simple movements from the civilians would have made it a bit more challenging. I didn't seem to be able to go through horizontal doors, not sure if it's a bug or I wasn't doing it right. Vertical ones worked fine.

sletari says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:36pm

The same for me, after pressing 'play' the game screen gets black , with the time passing, but nothing happens. The console shows this warning: WebGL: INVALID_ENUM: getParameter: invalid parameter name

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:23pm

A promising start! I liked the effects on the doors and the level design was interesting. Would have liked the camera to track you a little more quickly as I managed to walk off the screen at one point. You enjoyed it, all good :D -J

Kalakian says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:06am

Glad it entertained some, at least for a few seconds :)

The blackout thing seems to be a problem with some WebGL implementations and handling the alpha-blending. Guess I should've done more testing outside my own comp and Firefox

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:34pm

Just black. Couldn't play. :(

AdricZero says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:49pm

Black screen only. Using latest Chrome on Windows 7 64-bit. Radeon HD 5770 video card.

wademcgillis says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Game fails to run after clicking "Play" in both Firefox and Chrome.

Gornova says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:31pm

total black even here :(

SimianLogic says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:19am

Just a black screen when you hit "play"

Winterblood says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I too get a black screen in Chrome, but it worked in IE9. Potential to be a fun game very reminiscent of Adventure - all very smooth, but there's not a lot to do yet :) Some minor niggles, eg. you can outpace the scrolling and have to wait for it to catch up.

Teejay5 says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:28pm

I'm getting the black screen too :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]