Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Burglary - Tobias Wehrum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the premises. Evade the guards. Pick locks. Steal the treasures! And then escape with them.

Burglary, an action/stealth game about stealing from the rich and giving to those needing it: Yourself.

Hints:
- When you are captured, it's over! You can restart the level to try it out again, but you can't get a perfect score anymore.
- The guards see you when their seeing helper line connects to you. The brighter your light is, the better they can see you.
- Lock-picking is easier with more light!

View Tobias Wehrum's journal. | View all entries by Tobias Wehrum

Ratings

Coolness71%
#58Fun3.59
#59Innovation3.75
#97Overall3.55
#148Mood3.22
#258Audio2.74
#308Theme3.32
#582Humor1.94
#679Graphics2.07

Comments

TopGear93 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:28am

This is perfect! I would love to see this game get a complete polish. It fits the theme correctly, its' extremely fun, and challenging!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:56am

Solid game! I like the light-mechanics, and the line-of-sight of the guard has a lot of potential.

The mini-game is ...interesting. It's a nice idea, but it took me some tries to understand what was actually going to, and it was essentially trial and error. Then I realized I spent more time in the lockpick-screen that in the actual "world" :P

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:23am

That's a really solid game! I liked running around with a light level of 2 or so to try to slip past the guards.

Ashkin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09am

Very nice! I liked the mechanic of brightening/dimming your light, and I think it would be even better if more things revolved around that, rather than just lockpicking and seeing your surroundings. Maybe light-based sensors or something, I don't know.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:49pm

The use of light is pretty great. Did always wish I could change the light level when I was lockpicking. And talking about the lock picking, your minigame is actually pretty good. And lockpicking minigames are usually terrible. I liked how it got harder with less light.

Tifu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:33pm

Love the light dim/brighten mechanic, and I like how it is integrated into the lock picking mechanic. Good little stealth thing (I got a perfect run, whoo :P)

ananasblau says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:17pm

What a tough game. Did I miss an indicator for how long before the guard gives up his search?

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Thanks for all the feedback!

Some notes:

Ashkin, glad you enjoyed the light mechanics! I'd love to have inserted more of this sort, alas there was no time - the light was an afterthought and came in about 9 hours before the deadline and I didn't know how much fun it would prove to be by then. Thanks for the idea, I might use it later :)

bradleypollard, I consciously excluded changing the light while you picked a lock to simulate concentration and to make the risk/reward factor higher. It might have been a bad call though... I didn't have too much time to playtest. (Oh, and I'm really happy that you like the minigame. :) )

Tifu, you cannot imagine how glad your comment made me. I never had time to test all the levels - up until now I wasn't sure if the game was even beatable! (You weren't logged in to Kongregate though, right? Otherwise the highscore submission is broken.)

ananasblau, the guard chases you:
a) As long as he sees you. (=The line connects)
b) Afterwards he goes to the last place he saw you. (=The red rectangle)
c) Then he follows your trail slowly for 8 more seconds.
He can see you more easily when your light is bright! Dim it a lot, and run around corners as much as possible. Does that help you? If not, please ask again!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:04pm

Nice lockpick system too !

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:27pm

neat game :) i really liked the lockpicking mechanic

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Awesome game, use of light and the little lockpicking minigame are great.

AlexFili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:30pm

This is pretty good. If I would make a suggestion it would be that the character moves a bit faster, and that the graphics were nicer... but overall it's great. I like the mechanics of it.

Logun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Cool game. Damn hard !

Dohan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:12am

The lockpick mechanics and the light mechanics are good by their own but together are just perfect. Very good game.

Nsmurf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:28am

Nice game! The "bank robber" thing didn't score to well for innovation or theme though.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:33am

Great, great gameplay. My favorite part about this is how the lockpicking and lighting mechanics are connected. Both are fun as isolated cases, but you've also implemented the It's essentially a balance between more risk to get caught and easier lockpicking. This is something other game designers could and should learn from.

Also, too often in indie stealth games you're caught the moment a guard sees you, without giving you a chase scene. Chases are a blast!

Definitely could profit from better presentation, but I'm glad you prioritized your entry for gameplay instead. It's a fun and complete game as it is, so a post-compo version with less programmer art, more suspenseful audio, and possibly more things to watch out for could only be a success.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:35am

Looks like I accidentally the third sentence. Should be "...you've also implemented them together in a way that improves both".

schnerble says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Nice work! I see what you mean now about my game being similar :) The way the light and vision is cast around works very well, and the light's effect on the minigame is a good idea too. The guards' chasing logic is pretty much what I was planning for in my game, but yours works better :) (I ran out of time to put in logic to have them stop chasing the player)

Shugor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:35pm

The light mechanics are a really cool idea! The way you have to balance between not being seen and not taking forever on the locks makes this very challenging. It would be nice to see more levels, perhaps introducing different obstacles. All in all, it's a really fun game~

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:37pm

I really liked the lighting and lock picking mini game a lot!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:47pm

Great lockpick system!

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:08am

Really well done, and difficult. The lock picking was especially innovative.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:45am

This is fantastic. It's a fun, complete game which doesn't suffer because its graphics are simple.

3dwoody says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:57am

Brilliant use of the theme. Would love to see this developed further and polished up. Cracking idea. :)

char68 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:26pm

The gameplay is awesome. The lockpicking game seemed really unique and made it a nice balance between more and less light. The only thing I was confused about was the line from the green guy to myself, it made me think that was the path he was going to take (but that never seemed to be the case)

YopSolo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:44am

great one !

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:26pm

Wow, managing light while remembering the paths I've taken in a tree to unlock a door was thrilling! The music brings out the mood. If you continue to develop this, I expect to engaged further into the burglary by illustrating and animating the burglar, guard, rooms, treasure and locks.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:35am

Fun

Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:50am

Less is more. That's what this entry makes me think of. You've got a really solid mechanic and a really solid concept with a really solid execution.

I was really happy with the way you make the player both manage the light, and decide to strategically abort lock picking to avoid guards. Great stuff!

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:48pm

Great game play. I loved being able to adjust one's own lights, and the lock picking minigame. It had just the right amount of challenge.

I also really like how you dealt with the autotracker music, selecting a bunch of different titles and making a nice little jukebox of them.

The game needs a bit more polish in the opening, transition screens, and some of the map tiles. But given that polish, I can see people spending a lot of time in this game.

How easy is it to make new levels? You should consider adding a level editor :-)

Pierrec says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:15pm

A lot of great ideas in here! I love the lockpiching mini-games and the increase/dim light button. This gameplay totally deserves a bigger game with more attractive graphics!

Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:27pm

Great mechanics, the light range setting, the lock pick mini-game and the interplay between the two is really well conceived and executed. It was also very well balanced with regards to being spotted by the enemy. It was obviously quite abstract, but charming nonetheless. Thanks!

brantkings says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Sensational game! Like others said, love to see it with complete polish. But I still believe lockpicking should be a little different though.

brantkings says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:58pm

Sensational game! Like others said, love to see it with complete polish. But I still believe lockpicking should be a little different though. Nice that you gave some time to the music.

Sestren says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:14am

Great mechanics for both the light and the lockpicking. It feels like a genuine attempt at a simple trial-and-error emulation of how picking a lock might work.

chambers says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:49am

Wow, this is certainly one of the best games in this LD. Everything is very intuitive and gameplay is quite innovative (I love the lockpicking system). It's been a while since the last time I had so much fun with a stealth game.

If I had to change a thing in it, I'd keep the art completely abstract - there was no need to make a drawing of the characters in the title screen, the squares and circles worked just fine and gave the game a lot of personality.

I really like how intuitive the game is without the need of tutorials. Having the enemies line of sight always visible was a very cool feature that made it very easy to understand how the hiding mechanic worked.

Xavier says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Really interesting concept. The lockpicking system is truly original

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:08am

I got some good adrenaline rushes with this game! Congratulations! Also good AI behavior!

Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:57pm

Its very nice when a guard is chasing you. Liked that a lot. Rest of the game is nice as well. Nice idea ;-)

lucasncv says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:19pm

really fun, lockpicking should be a bit faster though!

Madball says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 1:16pm

I found out it's almost impossible to tell if a guard will see you or not, because the line is not visible in shadow.

Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Very fun and challenging! Took me a minute to get acclimated to the controls, but they make sense. Would love to see a "post-compo" version!

Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Great game, can see this game being a big hit when finished

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:17am

Holy crap this is cool... really impressed..

Tanner says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:44am

well designed and actually fun to play. Love how light is used on movement, stealth and the mini game scope!

voidstar69 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Wonderful game. Great fun! I love the gameplay.

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I enjoyed this game very much! It has everything a game needs... well it could use some better gfx and other music but I had fun. :)

Simple, easy to implement idea. Please develope it further! Or should I say "evolve" after LD24?

Ed Okonik says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:53pm

I really enjoyed this. Nice game ideas.

ahmed.majd says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:09am

Nice Game. I like the concept of darkness but the keys part is a little bit slow and can't be enticpated... Good luke

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]