Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Cata Chulhu - Gornova - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bring a Chulhu Cataclism on the world!
Destroy cities, kill heroes and be the true villain!

Made in 48hours for Ludum dare 25


Be aware: Cthulhu is the BIG VILLAIN :D

View Gornova's journal. | View all entries by Gornova

Ratings

Coolness100%
#302Theme3.34
#330Humor2.63
#474Mood2.59
#489Audio2.00
#550Fun2.45
#593Overall2.58
#597Innovation2.37
#673Graphics2.08

Comments

Ark says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11pm

Ah ah nice

pbdiode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:28pm

Loved the squishy sound. Really easy to beat since you just re-spawn, but I still found it an enjoyable game!

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:14pm

*SQUISH* *SQUISH* Cool concept :)

tomvert says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:15pm

Quite fun ! Really easy though

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:15pm

It's Cthulhu, so I like it. :D Nice effort!

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:01am

He, I managed to set a city in chaos, then I got stuck in the mountains. Which is right, we all now that Cthulhu came fro the depths of the ocean X)

Manest says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:08pm

fun!

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:09pm

The most interesting part is eating them all lol.
A bug: I was stuck in mountains when I bulked up.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:28pm

The squish squish was hilarious. Surprised not more people delved into the Cthulu mythos.

Hatscat says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:56pm

fun game! just lacks more challenges

Yacodo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:39pm

Hard to control, only problem I got.
Need more difficulty.
Good job.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:59am

Get stuck sometimes in the mountains and the cities but nice idea.

Madball says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:02pm

After destroying 2 cities, the game goes too easy. But eating people is a nice idea.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Fun game, I liked how you grow as terror increases.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:46pm

Haha fun little game :D

galman says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:08pm

Hehe, funny game! It was fun playing it with the squish sounds :P

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:37pm

I like the concept. Has some movement bugs, but i like it. Good work!

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:06pm

little buggy but nice mood, I felt cruel villain stepping into all people :D

ceronman says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:43pm

Nice game. It was fun to squash all those towns. A little more challenge would have been nice.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:05am

Easy but fun! You got me smiling the whole game. Perhaps having cities return to "peace" if left alone for enough time would add a bit more of challenge. Variety of enemies or actions to carry (besides spreading chaos) may make a nice update. Gratz on a fun little entry!

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:28am

Crushing people and cities was fun, could expand on that.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:45pm

Nice if a bit unpolished.

squishing people rapidly was fun, I managed to get stuck to a mountain when the character grew.

Gornova says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:18pm

thanks anyone for playing it and rating it!

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Cthulhu... the ultimate evil... I made a Cthulhu game in LD22, so I love the theme. gameplay is very interesting. Congrats.

rvmook says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Fun little idea but needed a little more work though. Heroes were easily beaten and Cthulhu grew rather fast. But then again, it's Cthulhu, of course he slays heroes and grows fast. It would have been nice to actually destroy cities after the chaos state.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]