About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 3 hours, 53 minutes, 18 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 4 hours, 5 minutes, 18 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 4 hours, 53 minutes, 18 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Cata Chulhu - Gornova - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Bring a Chulhu Cataclism on the world!
    Destroy cities, kill heroes and be the true villain!

    Made in 48hours for Ludum dare 25


    Be aware: Cthulhu is the BIG VILLAIN :D

    View Gornova's journal. | View all entries by Gornova

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #302Theme3.34
    #330Humor2.63
    #474Mood2.59
    #489Audio2.00
    #550Fun2.45
    #593Overall2.58
    #597Innovation2.37
    #673Graphics2.08

    Comments

    Ark says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    Ah ah nice

    pbdiode says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:28pm

    Loved the squishy sound. Really easy to beat since you just re-spawn, but I still found it an enjoyable game!

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    *SQUISH* *SQUISH* Cool concept :)

    tomvert says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Quite fun ! Really easy though

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    It's Cthulhu, so I like it. :D Nice effort!

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:01am

    He, I managed to set a city in chaos, then I got stuck in the mountains. Which is right, we all now that Cthulhu came fro the depths of the ocean X)

    Manest says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    fun!

    raincole says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:09pm

    The most interesting part is eating them all lol.
    A bug: I was stuck in mountains when I bulked up.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:28pm

    The squish squish was hilarious. Surprised not more people delved into the Cthulu mythos.

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:56pm

    fun game! just lacks more challenges

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:39pm

    Hard to control, only problem I got.
    Need more difficulty.
    Good job.

    GagaPete says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:59am

    Get stuck sometimes in the mountains and the cities but nice idea.

    Madball says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:02pm

    After destroying 2 cities, the game goes too easy. But eating people is a nice idea.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:29pm

    Fun game, I liked how you grow as terror increases.

    lucasncv says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:46pm

    Haha fun little game :D

    galman says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:08pm

    Hehe, funny game! It was fun playing it with the squish sounds :P

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:37pm

    I like the concept. Has some movement bugs, but i like it. Good work!

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:06pm

    little buggy but nice mood, I felt cruel villain stepping into all people :D

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:43pm

    Nice game. It was fun to squash all those towns. A little more challenge would have been nice.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:05am

    Easy but fun! You got me smiling the whole game. Perhaps having cities return to "peace" if left alone for enough time would add a bit more of challenge. Variety of enemies or actions to carry (besides spreading chaos) may make a nice update. Gratz on a fun little entry!

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:28am

    Crushing people and cities was fun, could expand on that.

    Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:45pm

    Nice if a bit unpolished.

    squishing people rapidly was fun, I managed to get stuck to a mountain when the character grew.

    Gornova says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:18pm

    thanks anyone for playing it and rating it!

    jfroco says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:37pm

    Cthulhu... the ultimate evil... I made a Cthulhu game in LD22, so I love the theme. gameplay is very interesting. Congrats.

    rvmook says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:53pm

    Fun little idea but needed a little more work though. Heroes were easily beaten and Cthulhu grew rather fast. But then again, it's Cthulhu, of course he slays heroes and grows fast. It would have been nice to actually destroy cities after the chaos state.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]