December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Greedy Aardvark

by newton64 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game inspired by the game the villain plays from 0:43 to 0:47 of the following video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BiVOLvhvsyo

A nutritious part of 73% of all Canadians' childhoods, The Raccoons were idiots. Their overlord was Cyril Sneer, but his tyranny was generally undone by his jerk son et al.

"Greedy Aardvark" puts us in the aardshoes of this Machiavellian despot, that we may one day play the same games, digital and psychological, as he.

Regarding the controls (arrows to move, thassit): they're a bit funky, but again, I'm basing them off the movement in the video. Which is seeming increasingly arbitrary.

There are exactly TEN levels.

I apologise for the tenth.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#225Audio2.87
#317Innovation2.96
#323Graphics3.04
#545Mood2.44
#600Overall2.56
#601Humor1.87
#654Theme2.41
#657Fun2.13
#831Coolness41%

Comments

nihilocrat says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:54am

Cool ending! But I gotta ask, is this canon?

newton64 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:28am

OBVIOUSLY

naughtyloose says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47am

pretty cool game but I didn't why the money-maker-block would move the way it does. Maybe its just because I'm not Canadian? ;)

newton64 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01am

Yeah, it's just based on the like... 1.5 seconds of footage I could make out in the video I linked. It seems to arbitrarily jump from wherever on the Y-axis to the top of the next line over, which is super weird and I may have to write a confused letter to Kevin Gillis, creator of the show.

And the blue shift-by-one blocks are only there for laughs and giggles.

angela says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:19am

well, I don't get it, but kudos for matching the audio in the video clip. your sounds are spot on.

newton64 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31am

Thanks for playing anyhow! And doubly so for noticing the audio. It's more of a personal project, I now realise, but I figured it fit the theme nicely enough.

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:20am

I have no idea what I just played, great work though

mutuwarejam says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:22am

Cyril Sneer would approve! Nicely done.

Radiatoryang says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:18am

I like the sounds, kind of has an increpare sokoban feel to it

TheMelon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:49am

Really nice style. A little confusion over how movement works, but discovering the solution I guess was the reward in itself!

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:29am

Very nice graphics! Weird gameplay, though.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Nice minimalist graphics and sounds. Probably needs a short text-based tutorial, but I think that I get it :-)

dray says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Intersting way to treat the theme, the game is very weird but i understand your work to keep it like in the video. good job

char68 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:18am

Hmm, I seem to have broken one of the levels when I absorbed the blue orb before I should have. Otherwise it had a really unique look that I'd like to see pushed further

Cabral says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:27pm

It's a cool idea, but this game has some serious issues that made it really really frustrating. When the whole point of the game is to perfect your execution of a level, you have to give the player a way to retry the level. I found myself wanting to restart each level to get a better score, but it automatically went on to the next, and the only way to retry it was to restart the whole damn game. Not only that, but if you get stuck in a level you have to start from Level 1. On top of that, there's the weird and unpredictable movement.

This could have been a decent game, but the not being able to restart made me REALLY frustrated, and I had absolutely no fun playing this. It may seem like a tiny flaw, but the impact it makes is enormous.

Like I said, it was a cool idea, the graphics and sounds were nicely fitting and the execution was mostly good; but that single flaw of the level selection completely ruined it, at least for me.

Remember: if there's a best score to be beaten, make sure the player can quickly and easily retry a level.

fishbrain says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Nice style, couldn't quite figure it out though :/

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Haha, interesting inspiration. The game itself is interesting, but I think it gets too boring too soon. I think there's not enough reward, and certainly not enough challenge.

I do love the way it looks and feels, though :) Made me want to play it with an Atari joystick.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]