December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Revolution Dance

by dwrensha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a robot dance party, and you must come up with the moves!

Use the arrow keys generate dance moves. Then watch as the robots attempt to perform them.

Try to maximize the score of the robots! Now try to minimize it!

Watch out for bullets!

Use your mouse to cheat!

--------------------------

Binary released for Max OSX Snow Leopard or newer. For other OSX's and for Linux it should be super straightforward to download the source and compile. For Windows, it should be possible, but I can't promise it's easy. (Let me know if you succeed in getting it to work on Windows; I'd like to support that and any info helps.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#50Audio3.53
#129Innovation3.44
#204Humor3.00
#326Mood2.85
#353Overall3.00
#540Fun2.47
#682Graphics2.06
#721Theme2.06
#831Coolness41%

Comments

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:35pm

Aw, I wish I could try this. No OS X for me.

pbdiode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:36pm

Interesting concept, but I kinda felt like I didn't really have any goals (IE, "get a score of 1000" or "maintain a score of between 200 and 300"). Didn't see any bullets (did I have to get a certain score or play for a certain amount of time?), and I tried clicking around on the screen, but didn't get the mouse to do anything.

Good sounds though, and I think there is potential with this concept!

dwrensha says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:41pm

You can click and drag the robot arms. But that's cheating.
About halfway through the song, some projectiles should start coming in from the left of the screen.

fussycashew says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:40am

I was looking forward to playing this, but I've no OS X :(

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:52am

I kind of have to question you creating the game on OS X, sadly I cannot play it. But to each their own, I guess.

ripter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:03am

Fun, especially when I learn it had sound. The bullets are weird.

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05am

I enjoyed playing this. Not sure what the actual goal was though.

singpolyma says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Very interesting idea, and good execution. The robots seem really good, and so it doesn't end up being very interactive.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:10am

Interesting concept. Great job on the sound. Seems like there isn't too much more to go with though. Would be fun to somehow get a full-on human rig in there and get them to dance. So maybe go for that? ha ha.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:10pm

pretty cool idea!

chrisamaphone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:12pm

i love watching the robot squirm manically to get my arrows

xBlinkedx says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:01am

Due to lack of OS/X, I can't play this :/

GameRespect says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:56pm

It's pretty entertaining to see the robot legs 'dancing', though I still can't figure out how the point system works. Needs a goal of somesorts to make it complete. Maybe a dance-off between a computer controlled robot?

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:03pm

Hey, the OS/X build of my game might work for you now! I'd play your entry so this comment wasn't just an advertisement, but I have no mac. But know that I am in no way saying you did something wrong by not making it for the mass populace, you should make games for whatever platform you want. :)

Encircle says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:43pm

I dont have OS/X. Oh well, looked fun.

ix says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:38am

Really an interesting idea.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]