Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Goat - amidos2006 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

How To Play?
------------
Use Arrows to move Evil Goat
Kill all childrens to finish the level

About the Minimum
------------
If anyone beats the minimum could you tell me :) thanks :)

Inspired by
------------
Escape Goat by MagicalTimeBeans

Finish the game to know the relation between both games (this and Escape Goat)

View amidos2006's journal. | View all entries by amidos2006

Ratings

Coolness64%
#10Fun3.95
#21Overall3.95
#109Graphics3.74
#189Humor3.06
#254Theme3.45
#260Mood2.97
#261Audio2.73
#283Innovation3.05

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:01am

Wow, very polished!

Mabi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:03am

The mechanic works well and the puzzles are great!

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:13pm

Classic mechanics but the art and gameplay look very well done and polished :D Great!

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:13pm

Really like the game mechanics! and nice created levels!

Manest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:14pm

Theme are realy fake but the game is realy nice, cute and polished.
thank for the game.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Incredible puzzle mechanic! I like the game and the puzzles! Nice work, dude!

Frolacosta says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Very good fun! The levels do get quite hard though

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:40pm

I suck at this kind of games, but I do appreciate what you've done here. May I ask how do you design levels? I would love learning more about it!

someone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Nice simple but challenging puzzle game.
Managed to beat the score on some of the levels.
For some reason the number of moves stays at 0 for a couple of levels on the select screen.
The sound effects were a bit irritating.

Harsay says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05pm

Enjoyed and love it!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Really nice and polished puzzler, as usual!

Nik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:09pm

Very addicting

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16am

Very cool sliding puzzle game, nice sounds and art :)

Sanguine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:38pm

The graphics are great and the game is very polished, but I'd love to have some background music :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:09pm

So fun! The puzzles are awesome. I hated the sound, especially on headphones, but the game was brilliant! Full marks!

Volute says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:02pm

Very entertaining, I like it !

pbdiode says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:49am

Very polished for 48 hours indeed! Excellent job! Only thing I was missing was, maybe, some toggle-able background music, but only maybe.

JesterBLUE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Cool game!
I didn't like the high pitched clicky noises, but the polish on the graphics was nice - the movement shadows and how the icons grew/faded upon a restart. Theme was ok. This could have just as well have been a heroic goat ramming villains into traps. I do like how the goat rams things though and suggests he has such momentum that he cannot steer or stop by himself, good cover for the basic mechanics. The visceral shock of killing children got you another star but it did wear off after 2 levels.
I was able to get new minimums on two levels (SPOILER)
level 11 - 6/10: UDDRUR
level 15 - 20/28: RRUDLLUDDURDLUULURDD

azurenimbus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:11am

Dude, as always I am so impressed by your level design. How can you make these games so quickly? Level design is so difficult for most people, but I think you have developed an instinct for it.

Great game, it really feels like this is a game that has been in production for way longer than a weekend. I can't think of any suggestions to improve it, it's really great. If you want, just keep expanding it and polish the presentation more, but honestly, great job.

I'm saving this to play to completion later.

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:20pm

Really good puzzle. Like the graphics too.

Put a level editor in that post-compo version!

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:24am

Thanks all for great comments and further work :) Sorry for not able to reply before but I was too busy :)

raincole says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:40am

you are very good at level design! The difficulty curve is prefect.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:05am

Good game but has nothing to do with the theme :(
Beat level 7 in 12 moves and level 8 in 21 moves.

saampahlavan says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:04am

simple and sweet

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:48am

Perfectly done! Excellent!

ncannasse says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Nice one, good LD

hissssssssss says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:51am

The level design in this game makes me envious. Awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]