December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Red Legion

by DeathBySnail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Short story-driven game about a couple of spies infiltrating an evil lair. But whom you trust is not always a simple question....


NOTE for osx users: completely untested due to not owning a mac.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#57Mood3.56
#74Humor3.53
#119Theme3.77
#157Audio3.05
#167Overall3.37
#176Innovation3.28
#240Fun3.09
#460Graphics2.72

Comments

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Can't play windows only games. :-(

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01pm

A first i was like "what is this it's not even about vilain" but the story was interesting so i've done it and...it was good :)

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:06pm

Nice entry. :) The storyline was good, and although some of the jokes were b-a-a-d, some of them were decent. :) Good game!

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Great game! Good job!

Oreganik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Works on OS X. Still playing it. Between waiting for. Dialog strings to. Finish timers. Button to advance. Would be sweeeeet. Good music and. Mood. Sometimes text overwrites without clearing the previous dialog. But tighten that up, add an input to advance, and call me in the morning Red Legion!

zompi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:40pm

Tricky villain, isn't he? Interesting fight style and dialogues. Also I've never seen games written in pure lua. Oh, and that story... nice, I really enjoyed that.

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:12am

I really enjoyed this game, it has a great story, especially for being made in 48 hours. Music is good, but starts to get a bit repetitive. Overall, a great game.

jerrre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:24pm

Works on OSX.

Please make text go faster I have only been waiting this whole game. To the point where I just do something else and check if the text is done, but then I cannot follow the story

Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:25pm

Great game! I really liked the little NPC agent that talked to you throughout the game. Definitely made it more fun, since I wanted to progress to see what else he'd say.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:02pm

Sorry about The OSX issues, guys. I really don't know what is going on with the text, as I have no means to test it (it works fine on windows and Android...)

Rialgar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Nice twist, really enjoyed this one.

Clavus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:20pm

Not much in terms of gameplay, but the story and presentation makes up for it. Nice twist at the end!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Really enjoyed that! Should have really expected the twist but I didn't! Liked the walking animation! The fighting got a little old after the first few people.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:22pm

Okay. This game is sick.

It makes an interesting exploration as a typing tutorial. Love the way the characters hop to walk. Love the transitions between screens. Wasn't sold on the music at first, but it took hold of me. Great work!

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:41pm

Unfortunately the game crashed when I tried to run it (Windows). I'll try again on another computer later.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:44pm

I can't figure out how to play it on my mac... :S

haxpor says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Works on Mac. But can't progress through the story as I can't hit any button to mov forward. It's pretty interesting though.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Ahahahahahaha, didn't see it coming!

Excellent minimalistic approach, you've really made it shine.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:48am

Wow, that was a really cool twist. I quite enjoyed the dialogue as well. The fighting... not so much. But still, the story was really cool.

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:25am

Whoah, that was awesome! This one absolutely got me. :-)

Xavier says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:03pm

Works on OSX! I noticed that the text dialogues sometimes are blended each other. Overall, it's a good game.

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Very nice game! I loved the story and the twist. I usually don't like "story" games, but this one made me smile with the ending :-)

The main thing that needs some improvement is the sound, that was quite grating. But other than that I loved your game!

Also consider adding a more complex "type-fighting"? :-)

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:58am

I personally like the idea, but you need to really speed up the dialog part as that is WAY to slow...

Spelchan says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:57pm

The story and humour made the game well worth playing though. Not quite the ending I anticipated so you caught me there. I hate the quick-time battle systems that video games use during cut-scenes so I hated the combat system this game had. Still, very well done game.

ilo says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:11am

I actually thought the pacing of the story was fine. I enjoyed the humour as well as little touches like the passwords which made sense after the ending. :)

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:01pm

I have not rated, for some reason, I can't see the backgroud, and I can't see the text because it's white...

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Nicely balanced game. Has about everything needed. Interesting fighting system, but maybe not for me. Overall good job!

firestorm713 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:10pm

What a twist! wasn't a huge fan of the QTE combat, personally...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]