December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Let's Make a Bomb!

by Xymostech - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LD ever, wahoo!

In case you dislike the slow text scrolling, press space to make it go faster.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Fun3.45
#115Overall3.50
#204Humor3.00
#313Theme3.31
#320Audio2.55
#379Mood2.75
#404Graphics2.83
#508Innovation2.55
#742Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02am

super meat boy in 48 hours

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02am

nice job, I liked the wall jumps

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11am

It was really fun I liked it. I would like some background music though, maybe something sneaky. Maybe a little back story, but meh, its was great.

char68 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12am

The dialog throughout was great. SPOILERS! The zombified versions of famous physicists was pretty funny :) Only thing I'm wondering is why you used the 'W' key for jump, the spacebar would have made so much more sense! Great game though, so much content for a 48 hour jam.

Oh, and is the audio original to the game as well? I thought the boss music was awesome

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12am

There is no escape from richard feinmann?

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:23am

Haha, +1 goat

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:10am

Yay, I won. :D This is cool. I like the checklist type level select screen and Barbara is a memorable character. The physicists, too.

Sheep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:04am

Nice little game. The platform gameplay was kinda basic, but it worked. It has some nice humor, and it was fun to play. Good job!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55pm

OH nice I like it.

CptBubbles says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Probably the best game I've reviewed so far. Great job!

saguaro says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:38am

I enjoyed this, but had some slowdown issues when the zombie music started.

31eee384 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:54am

Cool! Solid, simple platforming mechanics with clean graphics and a fun story. The jumping bits on the goat level were a bit repetitive, but the platforming mechanics were done well enough that I really didn't mind.

Joncom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:48am

My game froze when I pressed "E" on the table with the plans (room with two glass floors over spikes). Otherwise very fun game controls!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:11pm

Great game. I was really bad at it, but kept on trying. Is Barbara good looking?

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Cool game, but WASD controls makes game a little tricky because I have to use my left hand :)

Xymostech says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:24pm

@Joncom: Hmm, I think that might be related to the sound starting to play at that point. It's working for me, though.

@char68: I just used autotracker a couple times :P

@Manuel777: There is a way to beat him, you have to be tricky. :)

@surpy: I tried a couple kinds of music/sound effects, but they all seemed too... loud for a stealth game.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:34am

platformer/sneak/puzzle, great job mixing it well! I think you were also going for the 'sarcastic-sidekick' too :P I love the fact that the zombies are super hero physicists :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]