Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

hunt - Zillix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

i... i think it's away. we have to act fast.

this may be our only chance to lift the curse it's laid on this land.
find the gems. search *everywhere*. you know what to do.

it has to be stopped. we've all lost family to it.

god help us if it catches us in here.


-- CONTROLS --

LEFT / RIGHT - walk
UP - enter door
UP / DOWN - climb ladder
SPACE - interact
DOWN - call to ally
+ / - - adjust volume
0 - mute

there are two endings. interact, experiment, see what happens.
don't be afraid to fail.
revel in the hunt.

inspired by the board game 'betrayal at the house on the hill'

note: contains blood

12/17 - added a 1.5x zoomed swf, and some spoilers if you get stuck. enjoy!

View Zillix's journal. | View all entries by Zillix

Ratings

Coolness56%
#16Mood3.97
#26Theme4.11
#34Overall3.82
#50Innovation3.82
#65Graphics3.97
#96Fun3.45
#326Audio2.54
#329Humor2.64

Comments

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:57am

Hunt oozes spooky old school adventure. Interesting interactions in every room! And clever AI. They found me out and made my head explode.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:02am

I liked this, interesting concept. Just wasn't very clear at first what to do, even with the intro pictures. I liked the art, wish you would scale it up by a factor of 2 so i could see what was going on a little better.

ElScootro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04am

Had fun playing!

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26am

Nice! Love the art. Pretty good considering the time alotted!

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:03am

I love the interactive nature of the game, and you captured the theme perfectly! Great, simple graphics too.
My only suggestion (besides making it longer or more levels so i can keep playing), is to make it compatible with larger resolutions.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:14am

I liked the intro a lot, great sprites too

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:23am

Love the Gothic themed idea of it. I should have made a game like this! What was I thinking?!?! This is excellent you should be proud. Couldn't figure out how to kill them once I turned into a dragon (or whatever it was). :(

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:32am

Good single-screen graphics. Niftly little props. Feels complete (though I'm not really sure how the ending is supposed to work out).

feili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:30pm

I really liked it!

AlexFili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:24pm

I like this quite a bit, the ending is a bit confusing but I think that adds to the charm in games like this. Great job!

Sestren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

A bit confusing at first, but the use of the theme was excellent and interacting with the different traps was a lot of fun.

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:58am

You really make some interesting games. This one was great, simple, great mood, fun game play. Keep up the awesome game making.

My only complaint was that the goal wasn't really clear... even with the instructions.

Volute says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Great idea !

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Looks really great - fantastic attention to detail all across the house. Even though I didn't really know what I was doing, I found it very fun to mess around.

someone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:58pm

Played it through several times and still dont know what was going on or what I was supposed to be doing.

haxpor says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:38am

Pretty hard though as I try to use sword to kill some of them, really multiple times til he's dead. But love the art + AI (pretty clever) + lots of thing and places to hide. Nice work!

Mase says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:27am

I was confused when I got the "make their hunt a little more difficult" screen even after they were all dead; I finally managed to get the second ending after trying everything. . . the game was really intuitive up until that. I loved discovering new traps in each of my 4 playthroughs.

The graphics were wonderfully intricate during gameplay, but the 8x8 characters don't look very good enlarged (like on the title screen). I think a little animation of them marching to the mansion or something would be cool, under the title.

rvmook says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:17pm

Great game, I'm definitely going to play this one again.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Very nice work! Let's see:

Bad:
-Certain things you can do completely break the outcomes. For example, if you pray to the altar when everyone's dead, but all five gems are found, then instead of the second ending you get the first anyway. Another time is if they reveal your disguise when you're in the crawlspace.
-It's a bit hard to understand what's going on at first, but you may have intended that.
-This one isn't too bad, but it would be nice if you could go off the ladder by pressing left or right rather than having to get to the bottom.

Good:
-The traps are indeed quite fun to play with, though I prefer the brute, thrashing simplicity of the sword. ;)
-The A.I. works well, it seems.
-The concept is very nice.

On a sidenote, I like the looks of the little engine you've thrown together for the past few LD's. It seems to be tailored well to your strengths and specifications.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Very funny idea, but I didn't get why I got the losing screen after killing all the others and tranforming into a monster...

Nice graphics, a bit small but it's okay. The sound effects fit well, too. Good job!

Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:50am

Absolutely no idea what to do -- but something very pleasing about moving the dude around and interacting with stuff.

Gornova says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:20pm

really good concept, but lack of fun (IMHO): it's hard to escape hunt, besides good catch on theme!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:36am

Hey, this is really cool. I really liked the concept. I wish there were more ways to stop them.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]