December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Goat Factory

by nilstastic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to The Goat Factory - where the goats rule supreme!

OSX-Tip: To run, use -> ./run.sh
Windows tip: To run, use -> run.bat

How to play:
1. drag the items in the top corner where you like them
2. press space to play/pause
3. press r to restart

What:
The Goat Factory is a free to play goat-saw-lava simulator that takes place in the 20'th century.

Why:
Everyone loves goats!

Tech:
Moai, sunvox, sfxr,fireworks,Lua!

Issues: Sound lags a bit on Windows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#58Fun3.59
#124Overall3.48
#150Humor3.17
#160Audio3.04
#176Innovation3.28
#356Graphics2.97
#374Mood2.76
#444Theme3.03

Comments

boena says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05pm

Awesome work! Love killing them goats! :)

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:57pm

I think G button dosn't work inside levels?
That makes the gam too slow :/

Tommislav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:32pm

Hey, that was really fun. Good difficulty steepness on the levels. Found a tiny glitch where you can drag and drop the water tiles - but its not a game breaker. Nice soundtrack as well!

SirJson says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:08pm

This game is crashing on my PC after "spawncomponent created". I'm using Windows 7 x64

jujule says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:41pm

The game is not working on my Mac. A terminal window opens but then nothing happens.

h.attila says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Pretty good, it's kinda like TIM, but with goats. :)

tumoxep says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:16pm

Omg, game is too damn good.
Really want to see more levels in post-compo version.

epiplon says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:23pm

There is a error on the console, I can't drag stuff.
managers.lua:50 attempt to index field '?' (a nil value)
Too bad, I wanna play. :(

epiplon says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:34pm

Oh sorry, I didn't knew that Spacebar starts the level. I mean, I didn't figured out that the level starts paused. You should put something indicating that, maybe after the competition.
I'm having fun with this, remember me some of those old games like Lemmings. Work more on this, fix the bugs and this game will be awesome!

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:05pm

I do wish it was possible to spawn more goats without resetting all tiles... it makes finding the solution to each level less iterative than it could be, and slower, too.

Good music and a nice clean art style! Very nice work :)!

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:07pm

A really fun and addicting game. I couldn't get more goats to spawn, but the level/puzzle design were quite good and let to some interesting gameplay.

StMatn says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Cool game. Reminded me of Lemmings and TIM. Nice mixture of both. A handful more levels would have been nice, since I sensed the upcoming addiction a bit ;)

StMatn says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Cool game. Reminded me of Lemmings and TIM. Nice mixture of both. A handful more levels would have been nice, since I sensed the upcoming addiction a bit ;) Would be good, if the dead goat-frames had something like wings, to indicate, that they are flying to heaven.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Could not figure out how to get this to work, sorry. Screenshots look cool though. Did the run.sh thingy, and nothing happened. Anyway, congrats on your entry.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Could't play the NaCL version. Initially it took ages to show the start screen. Then it works, but after starting the game I only see a goat and a saw and nothing more. Will try this game again later on a windows machine. I'm using Ubuntu 12.10 now.

pfirsich says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:20pm

A really nice progression (and a continous introduction of concepts/the game mechanic). It's just a bit annoying that you have to replace all your objects again if something didn't fit right.

Robotic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:47am

Fun and addictive

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:18am

Very fun game for me! :) I'd like to save the position of the tiles when I restart the level.

jsmars says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:27pm

Nice lemmings game :) Should be able to get more goats without resetting all objects.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Nice Idea ... nice graphics and music :)

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:18pm

Unfortunately it crashed when the window started to appear. I'll try again later with a different computer.

jfroco says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:28am

Smart, fun and well executed. One of the best entries I've player so far. Congrats.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:41pm

Pretty fun little puzzle game! Feels like Lemmings except you need to hurtle the goats into a meat grinder instead of lead them to safety. Hmm, more of a mix of Super Meat Boy with Lemmings, in reverse.

Others have already pointed out the problems with restarting a level, it would be much easier to tweak things instead of replacing all of them.

Hope you keep developing it post-compo! It could be a whole lot more fun if you added levels and objects :)

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 8:52pm

A very funny and polished game. Loved the minimalistic, clear style. A death animation for goats would be nice. Sound and background music fits very well, too. Sadly not that much content... but for 48 hours, this game is impressive anyway.

Played with chrome and the levels took long to load.

Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:28am

Hey wow you managed to hit a lot of solid design points in 48 hours.

Where's the gorts, though? Oh... goats. I get it now.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]