December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil kitten-kidnapping pirates - from SPACE

by Tommislav - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys to move and space bar to fire cannon.
You collect money by kidnapping the floating kittens (do NOT shoot them). Use the money to upgrade your ship in the shop, which is floating around somewhere...

You can read my post mortem about the game here: http://salomonsson.se/games/ludum-dare-25-post-mortem

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#265Humor2.83
#301Graphics3.09
#461Fun2.64
#487Overall2.77
#495Theme2.91
#526Mood2.47
#579Innovation2.41
#854Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:31pm

Nice polish (title screen, shop etc)! (and nice meeting you this weekend)

pbdiode says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:13am

Nice intro screen, and fun premise! I think some audio would have done it a lot of justice, and the controls were a little "squishy" -- I kept on wanting to turn my ship while not accelerating to fire at the opposing ships (similar to a asteroids control scheme).

nilstastic says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:47pm

Excellent! =)
Good: Cats, the shop, the goat and a good feeling when flying around. Also the difficulty level is pretty steep =)
Bad: Sound =) Peow peow peoW!

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:18am

Graphics are definitely funny! Sound would have been nice :/ The gameplay was very fluid, which I liked.

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:18pm

Cute art and interesting game play. I liked the kitten location indicators :)

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:17pm

I like the shop! Upgrading almost seems like a bad thing because of how easy it becomes to kill cats on accident when you shoot more bullets, though.

Nice art :)!

Drabiter says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:05am

Simple but too easy :)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:22am

Some nice pics - more sound would be good.

Hatscat says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:31am

funny and fun ^^ a little bit too hard for me

AyCe says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:17pm

Cool idea, the shop system was nice, but I noticed, when you get damaged while in the shop, you can get negative hp?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]