December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Reclaimed Empire

by zazery - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is incomplete. You can interact with Transport ships and destroy things. There is no opposition unfortunately.

In Reclaimed Empire you play as a race called the Gat'ax who abandoned their vast galactic empire for centuries. In that time other races claimed it for their own. Decimate cities by instilling fear into the population or by destroying the shield beacons and bombard it from space. Well, you can't bombard or instill fear yet but that was the plan!

You command Cortex Transport ships which store smaller fighters. Deploy your fighters and select what types of targets they should focus on.

The original concept had more types of targets to focus on including enemy fighters, factories that produce fighters, and defensive turrets. I also wanted to let the player configure their own transports with different ships. There was going to be a resource system that determined how many ships you could build that would cary over from planet to planet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#54Graphics4.04
#406Audio2.29
#553Mood2.42
#573Innovation2.42
#635Overall2.46
#670Fun2.08
#709Humor1.23
#740Theme1.88
#831Coolness41%

Comments

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37am

Glad to see there are RTS games! It's the top 1 hard-to-make genre for me.
What's next to do after I destroyed all the beacons?

zazery says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:10pm

Unfortunately I didn't get to that part. Originally the idea was if you destroyed all the beacons it would give you the option to bombard the planet from space and thus beat the level.

Yogr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Very interesting idea. The ship deploying and AI works very well, you could do a lot with this. Reminds me of protoss blimps in StarCraft

kato9 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Really nice visuals and cool concept. It's unfortunate it seems so incomplete, but it's definitely a nice start. Great color scheme and low poly models.

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:53pm

I really like the graphics style of your game, but I wish there was more to do...

Beerman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58pm

If this was finished, it looks like it would be awesome. Everything that's in there - the models, the ship controls, the fighter movement - is really slick. You could really make something nice from this.

illugion says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:42pm

Wow this looks awesome and the sound effects are just perfect, are u gonna finish the game ?

schnerble says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:44pm

It's incomplete of course, but this shows a lot of potential for next time. I think maybe you aimed a bit too high going for an RTS, though - there's loads of stuff to do for 48 hours! Anyway, the graphics look nice, and I'm sure it bodes well for next time :)

ratking says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:43pm

Very nice graphics style. Will you finish the game?

singpolyma says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Seems like good potential. Too bad it isn't complete.

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:16pm

I really love the graphics. A pity that you couldn't finish this. The concept sounds kinda fun.

naughtyloose says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:49am

the web player wont load/work. Unable to establish a connection with the server. :(

Jeremias says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:12pm

As many testers said in the comments above: I hope you progress on this game. The proposed idea is interesting and your visual style is great!

dray says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Too bad the game isn't finished, really like the graphics and the idea is interesting, hope to see a finished version :)

leafo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:05am

Shame it's not done, beautiful graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]