December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Super Agent Run

by dcolgan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: You have to lose to see the theme tie-in. Hopefully that wasn't too subtle. :)

Anyway, YOU ARE Super Agent Man. You are sworn to protect the king and his castle from bad guys by being the early warning scout.

Today there is a problem and you must warn the king fast or else!

Left and right arrows to run, space to jump, down arrow to roll, and hold a directional arrow against a wall and hit space to wall jump equal in power to the horizontal momentum you hit the wall with. Keep hitting space to jump higher.

Lose to see the theme connection.

I finished just in time! WOOT.

Also, I was going for an NES theme. I mostly used 16x16 tiles and a 16x32 character, used a screen size of 256x240, and used only the 56 colors of the NES color palette, and made some box art.

Since ImpactJS is not a free engine, I removed it from my source download. All of my code is there though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#167Fun3.27
#217Humor2.97
#240Audio2.80
#246Overall3.21
#350Mood2.79
#366Graphics2.94
#608Innovation2.33
#738Theme1.90

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:12am

YOU ARE Super Agent Man. You are sworn to protect the king and his castle from bad guys by being the early warning scout.

Today there is a problem and you must warn the king fast or else!

Left and right arrows to run, space to jump, down arrow to roll, and hold a directional arrow against a wall and hit space to wall jump equal in power to the horizontal momentum you hit the wall with. Keep hitting space to jump higher.

Lose to see the theme connection.

I finished just in time! WOOT.

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:58am

Very, very fun! The controls were really solid, and the style was great. Good length as well.

pereubu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12pm

pro : The feedbacks are great and i made it just in time
con : jumping is a bit hard to get used to, but i made a great run the second time i played :3

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:13pm

I really like the Graphics and it was fun playing it! Funny thing: the sound of the rolling.

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:03am

Very fun, now have it open in my other window to wait for the game to fail to see the theme connection!

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:50am

Woot! 28 seconds to go :) This one was pretty fun, but I don't see a connection to the theme...

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23am

Fun to play and a cute twist on the theme. Some of the double jumping was a little off, but overall very satisfying controls. -Tony

dcolgan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:00am

@BipolarMike, you have to lose to see the connection.

svenardo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:38am

Well executed and many cute touches!

namuol says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:03pm

Tough but not too tough. The wall jumping occasionally drove me mad. But I got through my second try. How does this fit the theme? Still, fun little platformer.

KEFIR says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:06pm

I loved the idea! Very fun and addictive. Cool!

gnx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Nice visuals, the wall jumping feels a bit random here and there, took me a while to figure out the down arrow thing too.

I especially liked visualizing the countdown with the troops moving in the background layer, nice touch.

TheCze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Great game! Really enjoyed playing it :)

TDRGames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:55am

No sound... tried Chrome and Firefox... I'm on Linux.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Wall jumping? More like wall humping.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:46am

Well done!
The control of wall jump is not so good,
but the fall break move is so cool!
The music is good, too.

Robotic says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:03am

I absolutely loved this game :) Rolling after a fall felt very good

saguaro says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:44pm

Great entry and fun to play. You really captured the feel of an NES game. I like the pep talks Super Agent Man gets when he falls.

Sestren says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:57am

Lol, loved the twist ending! The rolling mechanic was a lot of fun.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Really nailed the NES reference, controls responsive... nicely executed´╝ü

csanyk says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 11:21pm

I found the controls to be a bit frustrating... Super Mario would have made it to the king without any problems;0

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Pretty fun to play!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]