December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You are the boss

by Vladp995 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is simple:
You are an evil boss that kidnapped a princess and turned her into a goat,
now heroes are trying to save her,
obviously you should kill them..

You are faster and have a gun..
but they can sprint and head bang you, so you better avoid them.

The rest you can find in the game.

My personal high score - 11;

The game was written for ludum dare 25 in 48 hours.

About the source:
one of the most ugliest I ever wrote, for you eyes and brain safety you better not read it..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#389Audio2.33
#439Humor2.29
#503Theme2.90
#549Overall2.67
#558Fun2.43
#569Graphics2.38
#608Innovation2.33
#644Mood2.19
#854Coolness40%

Comments

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:35pm

Error when trying to run :(

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:32pm

I added a runnable version you can download. Hope it works.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Fun

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:08pm

The goat is free and the spell has removed! haha!
But a bit clunky :-(

sev_inf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Good game, but controls could be better. It's very uncomfortable to have left clikc shoot always in one direction no matter where you click.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Pretty good. I felt a sense of achievement when advancing up a level. I did quite poor, and got to level 5, by the way. :P
For criticism, I'd say aiming was quite difficult (aiming towards the mouse cursor would have been better), and was it possible to dodge their sprint attack? If so, I never managed it. :P

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Nice concept, but I miss an intro that explains the story. It works, but I find the controls very hard and unclear. I tried several times, but I only once completed level 2. I missed a 'try again'-button, now I had to restart every time.
Nice way to fit the goat in the story.

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:50pm

@sev_inf - you can say it was the point, or else it would be too easy.
@Pixelbear - it is posible, since they are very fast, it take them longer to turn, so you can dodge by turning in the last second.
@DiningPhilosopher - yeah sorry about that, didn't have enough time for the intro and restart.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:29pm

Can't get it to run :(
Java Plug-in 1.6.0_37
Exception: java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: main/View : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:15pm

It definitely could use mouse aiming. Like, being able to aim without moving. It's alright though.

tim_u says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:08am

Fun game. Only notes are that with the mouse fire it felt like I should be able to mouse aim, and the unstoppable attack from the hero felt cheap.

lorancou says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:41am

Frustrating: you should be able to shoot in any direction. This gets quickly annoying quickly, which is a shame because this could have been fun otherwise.

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:43pm

"should" - really? can you look in any direction without turning around?

jonnopon3000 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:22pm

Not a bad entry - actually fun to play with some replay value, but a little tweaking of the enemies' abilities might've made it a great game. Good job overall! Can't comment on the audio as my device is currently broken, and I got a score of 10 :P

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:04am

The game is really difficult, and I'm not sure if in a good way. Definitely requires some investment on the player's part, which might be difficult to expect from most people playing Ludum Dare games!

I did enjoy it though : )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]