December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Inverted Space Shooter

by Tyranus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Mouse.
You must create waves of spaceships to defeat the hero.
If a ship survive you will earn money to give new commands to your pilots.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#66Theme3.93
#98Graphics3.79
#104Innovation3.54
#137Overall3.43
#156Fun3.29
#222Humor2.96
#269Mood2.96
#612Audio1.17

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08am

Nice art style, fun story concept :)

nka says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:57pm

Graphics is really good, but the game is too short. I wish i could add more ships to a wave. It will be great if player will be able to construct epic battles. I also thinkl it will be great if i can add ships in realtime.

schnerble says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Nice! Great idea, and it works quite well. The quick moving ships seem the best bet, and using one or two of them to block the hero from the rest seemed a reliable winning tactic, but it was quite fun.

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Nice game. Nice touch.
I won pretty easily although I had the feeling of loosing. But it was fun. Like a backwards shmup.
Good work on that one. Unfortunately there was no sound or music at all :(

sanderman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Interesting mechanics. It's kind of fun to try and guess the behaviour of the hero and place the best formation. The hero got blown up in my game in two fifth of the way to the end, by a massive chain collision. :)

The hero's comments are quite amusing.

A few very simple sound effects would improve the game by quite a bit.

Hazel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:09pm

Nice concept, fitting art style. Simple gameplay but nicely executed.

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:29pm

This is pretty much exactly what I was hoping for when I heard the theme. Very cool.

jujule says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:51pm

All other positive comments from previous posters are exactly right. I'd like to see this game expanded : more story, more good guys ( ships and characters ), more options, etc...

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:14pm

it took me a little while to figure out how to play, but its a good game, congratulation!

Tyranus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:53pm

Hi everyone,

Thanks for playing, and for your feedback!

Maybe I will continue the game later :) (just a little to make it longer and fix some issues).

There is no sounds because I worked in a PC without sound output :P

Tyranus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:58pm

When I said "later" I mean post ludumdare version :)

brantkings says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:30am

Loved it! Good idea and awesomely done.

but I think it is a little too easy to win..

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:34am

Fantastic game that could easily be ported to Android. Loved the concept and was hoping for something like this to be made. Wished there were more upgrades and sound but for 48 hours the game looks amazing.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:22pm

I liked the 80s manga style character. When the commands actually become active seemed a bit random?

Tyranus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:08am

Each command cost money, I think the feedback sucks :P

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:57am

Some audio would really add some polish to this game. Well done other than that though!

JFlegle says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:29pm

This is a nice little game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]