December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dark World

by KilledByAPixel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My game is a twist on the classic platforming formula from the enemies perspective. Basically I tried to create a crude copy of super mario bros where the player is forced into being the villain.

I also wanted to experiment with mixing normal mapping and shadows with pixel art. The platforming mechanics themselves are pretty rough but that isn't really the point. Also it will automatically save at points along the way and its a pretty short level though there are a few difficulty peaks.

Use WASD to control your character. Mouse aims the light. After you get the hat you can shoot by pressing left mouse. You can toggle fullscreen with alt-enter. XBox 360 controllers and snes style gamepads are also supported.

If you want to play around a little with the engine you can bring up the debug console with ~ or toggle edit mode with F4.

Textures made using GIMP.
Sound effects were are all done with SFXR.
Music was generated with wolfram tones and tweaked a bit.

I put up a link to a enhanced post-compo version with some bug fixes, visual tweaks, and overall improved gameplay for those who aren't judging or if you are struggling with some gameplay issues in the 48 hour version.

If you get a missing DLL message try updating DirectX.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#38Mood3.73
#87Graphics3.85
#158Overall3.39
#169Audio3.00
#263Theme3.44
#332Innovation2.93
#367Fun2.84
#524Humor2.07

Comments

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Nice work

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:41pm

There's something wrong with controls. I can't aim light properly, and when i try to shoot, it shoots always at the same direction.
Also I haven't found shooting button on gamepad.

I really like graphics style. All those lights are awesome!

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52pm

I really like this one. The graphics look absolutely amazing, and the feel of the game is really set up nicely. Its also really fun to play, but as you said, the platform physics are a little wonky. The sound effects are good, but the music just seems unfitting to me. All in all, its really good, but it needs more solid platforming, and more fitting music.

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Beautiful game, love the graphics, and the "shine light on enemies to kill them" works well :) - It also works in wine, which makes me able to actually vote for it :)

sanderman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Love the mood in this game. It feels so.. wrong.. somehow.. in a good way. :)

This is probably what would happen if Alan Wake and Mario ever got together. Unlike Alan Wake, this is actually fun.

The platforming controls indeed feel a bit clunky/slippery.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12pm

Thanks guys! I put up a post-compo version with more solid platforming, bug fixes and overall improved gameplay. I also fixed some of the textures that were too dark. During the comp I had to prioritize and didn't have much time for polish.

For those having any weird control issues try the console command "gamepadEnable 0"

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Couldn't run becuase of missing dll.

Worse says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:43pm

Wow, that really was villainous. Very nice game.

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Very moody and funny too, though I felt bad when the little one blew up...oh well :)

Well done I loved it!

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21pm

Damn, that was sweet! You hit the tone perfectly, and I really enjoyed playing through it. I played it with an Xbox 360 pad, and it worked perfectly. :D

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:28pm

Most interesting game i seen at this moment! GREAT!

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:35pm

Nice - fun game and it looks nice too :)

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58pm

wow when everything works properly game is damn great! Where moody. I felt pity to creatures i killed.

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:00pm

*very moody

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:43pm

I like the lighting, however the controls feel very sluggish and "gooey", it's hard to describe, just doesn't feel right.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:12am

I know exactly what you mean about the controls being a little sloppy, really it all just comes down to some tweaking. I think I have it feeling much better now with only minor changes.

If you get a missing dll message, that is usually because you need to update directx.

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27am

Really liked the art style, well done!

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:50am

Couldn't run, but the art from the screenshot looks cool!

illugion says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Great game ! I loved the light system and the sounds+music gave a really cool mood to it, i felt bad for killing those things D:

YopSolo says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:40am

wow !

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:14am

Congrats! You had a solid game engine. About the game: I really like the mix between 3d graphics and pixel graphics. I didn't immediately realized how evil could be light. :)

Clodial says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:31am

This game really made me feel sort of bad for all the platformer games I've played and never looked back at all the grunts I've taken down.

Eniko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:02am

Very cool idea, the speech is pretty disturbing at times. Unfortunately the controls are spongy which isn't a huge issue except the two times when you have to jump off of an enemy to get high enough to proceed. I liked the flashlight effect, very neat!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:18am

My computer tells me there's a d3dx10-43.dll missing :/

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:49am

It's a good idea, I am only sorry that you did not have time to develop until the end.. :( this entry remains one of the best

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Everything here is really solid except for maybe the platforming controls. Great interpretation of the theme. The light/dark mechanic is really great, and the mood is very dark. Good work!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:24pm

Very interesting gameplay. As you probably did in your post-compo version, the controls (moving and jumping) didn't feel smooth. The graphics are lovely made, but need some polish, especially a main character walking animation is missing. In my opinion, the particle effects and some "realistic" effects don't fit with the pixel graphics. I think you should decide for one style. Was fun to play anyway.

I hope you keep working on this game, really :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]