December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

LS-MAN

by LoneStranger - Jam Entry

This is my attempt at a reverse PacMan game. You control the ghosts in an attempt to stop LS-MAN from stealing your pellets.

--- If you are having trouble selecting the ghosts, try the post-compo version. The only changes on that are the ability to hit numbers 1-4 to select specific ghosts. ---

Check out my Postmortem here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/19/ls-man-postmortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Theme(Jam)3.71
#96Humor(Jam)3.04
#125Audio(Jam)3.09
#176Overall(Jam)2.96
#190Innovation(Jam)2.71
#209Mood(Jam)2.65
#218Graphics(Jam)2.87
#223Fun(Jam)2.54
#831Coolness41%

Comments

Komradus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:58am

Really like the concept but it gets really hard to select the ghosts, maybe add a press numbers keys 1-4 to select associated ghost?

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:59am

I like the sound effects!

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:05am

Oh man, if we merged your pacman and my pacman, we would have the best reversed pacman ever :-)

I loved the idea of clicking the ghosts to select them. I think a mix of your control scheme and mine (click the ghost to select them, click for the destination, or control with the arrows) would be great.

Also, those voice sounds were just too adorable. The "nam nam nam" had me lolling at my chair!

Thanks for all the motivational posters!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:57am

Haha, I had a list of games I knew people would role-reverse, and Pacman was most definitely on it!

I agree with Komradus, adding a button shortcut to select ghost would have been really great, it is hard to click them when they're moving. More often that not I won by accident while trying to direct a particular ghosty.

I hope you keep developing this!

Faust says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:59am

Wow, excellent reverse pacman.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:59am

Nicely executed. Were it slightly easier to select the ghosts you could have put in the pill that makes LS man dangerous too. Perfect look and feel and idle movements of unselected ghosts is great.

bushmango says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:00am

I had the same idea but you actually executed it :D

Mase says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:03am

LS-Man needs power pellets.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:03am

Very nice idea. A bit too easy, but I enjoyed it.

SeanAtr0n says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:11am

Cool idea, it'd be fun if you could randomly match player vs player.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:17am

Good job, I like the sounds make with mouth!

Madball says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:04pm

An interesting idea, but uncomfortable to play. Ghosts are too little to hit; they automatically deselect when I direct them and get directed when I click another ghost. But I liked the controls.
I remember playing a game where you control 3 police cars and have to capture the criminal. It shows that if you make a strategy game that relies on speed, you should make selecting and targeting as obvious and simple as possible.

Team Tibbles says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:50am

Not nearly as much fun as pacman. The ghosts were had to select and control. Not really sure how it fits the theme. The graphics were the default pacman graphics, so I have to give you a low rating for graphics and innovation.

Deril says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:21am

Hm... it was a bit laggy for me. :(
For selecting - in many cases you could calculate distance to nearest item and "guess" that user wants to click on it... if mouse is not too far...

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:16am

A little easy and laggy. I like how you control the ghosts though

csanyk says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:21am

The ghosts are too hard to click on in order to control them. Really liked the concept, just needs to have larger ghosts so you can select them, or easier click-targeting or something.

csanyk says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:22am

Oh and the music was great, too.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:57am

Ah, definitely the answer to what Carahna's reverse Pacman lacks. Far better controls on this one.

Bad:
-It feels like there isn't too much reward for completing your goal.
-It seems a bit lacking in polish.

Good:
+Very nice control method.
+Epic opening whistle!
+Superb A.I.

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:37pm

Cool sfx :) And nice concept, was pretty hard to control, but I didn't have a mouse at hand and just used the trackpad of my laptop.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:51pm

The sound effects are great, so is the strategic component of choosing where each ghost should go.

Choosing the ghosts with the mouse is hard but you already fixed that. The only thing left is a really hard opponent so that the game requires some thinking (or just power pellets).

bugninja says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:48pm

For the compo version, grabbing the ghosts was really tough, but I thought it was fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]