Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Like a Boss - drakfyre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

^^^^ Click "Web" to play the game in your web browser!

LIKE A BOSS

Ever wondered what it felt like waiting for that special someone to assault your hidden skull-shaped fortress in a remote deserted island?

Prepare to find out!

This is by far my most complete LD game I've done so far; I had a blast making it, and basically made the project in about 24 hours. (Had a bunch of other stuff to do)

*INSTRUCTIONS*
Mouse moves your view. Click to interact with buttons that correspond to deadly traps! Watch fools die from the comfort of your EZ-chair! The player will win the game if you let him! As per tradition, this is the only condition where you will see the credits! ;)

I hope everyone enjoys the game! I really enjoyed making it!

And check out http://www.cookingwithunity.com for Unity tutorials and other game development related media!

P.S. I ended up using the Unity Pro 4 trial for this game; that's how I got the Render Targets working. Was a lot of fun to work with that feature!

P.P.S.: Tripod joke in the credits is due to the fact that my friend Phil held my camera to take 3 pictures of me. Hopefully this still counts for LD48. ;)

View drakfyre's journal. | View all entries by drakfyre

Ratings

#6Humor4.27
#13Audio3.82
#15Theme4.26
#92Innovation3.61
#163Mood3.20
#219Overall3.26
#226Fun3.13
#433Graphics2.78
#912Coolness35%

Comments

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:45am

I would have loved if my spiders could travel from the right screen to the left, I would have just sent waves of soldier-spiders to do my bidding.

xBlinkedx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:26am

The ending made me laugh :D This was very creative, I like it.

drakfyre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07am

Thank you both. @amassingham Actually, at one point the spiders could do that; I should've probably kept it. The world they exist in IS contiguous; I just preferred to delete them when they were off screen for managing the entity lifetimes rather than just having them disappear after a time.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:51am

Awesome voice acting!

Prelucid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:56am

I liked the Warcraft reference hahaha

CptBubbles says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:44pm

I absolutely love the idea and the execution is hillarious. The only problem with this (aside from the game's length) is that you have to "fail" in order to make progress.

gilesa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Hiliarious!

drakfyre says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:34am

@Prulucid Yay, someone noticed! (A lot of quips are random and so you may or may not hear the few throwback quotes I've got in there.)

@CptBubbles Honestly, that got me thinking about the nature of being a boss; that's part of the reason that you actually LOWER the drawbridge for the hero. I really wanted more rooms though.

surpy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:53am

One of the best games I played for LD 25. I loved the voice acting! It was very funny, "Your sound card works perfectly" I was like, uhhh what? I loved the villain commentary during the hero's adventure through. Simple yet enjoyable!

rylgh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:56am

SPIDERS! mine actually did travel to the middle screen.

degtyarev says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:41pm

Nice concept

Harsay says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:45pm

Very interesting :D

Start_ says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:45pm

Loved the ending, and I guess only thing was I wish the heroes had become faster or that there would have been more until I lose overwhelmed by hawaiian-shirted gunmen. Which would do away with the need to fail to progress

Xavier says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:18pm

Astonishing! love the concept of a game inside the game!

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Haha interesting experience.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]