December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

3radicat3

by nihilocrat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sentient life has been detected on the planet Sol III. In accordance with the Eternal Doctrine, this sentient life must be entirely eradicated to prevent possible future threat to our race, purely an act of pre-emptive defense.

I only had a few hours to work on this, but at least I finished something! Hopefully I didn't just predict the events of next Friday, but you never know.

Instructions:
1, 2, 3 : fire missiles from launchers 1, 2, or 3
Mouse pointer : aim missiles
Left click on one of your missiles : cause it to split into two missiles. Both missiles will turn dark and will not be able to be split again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#348Innovation2.91
#414Theme3.11
#441Overall2.83
#450Audio2.16
#464Graphics2.71
#507Fun2.54
#648Mood2.18
#675Humor1.57
#711Coolness47%

Comments

teh_eria says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41am

I like the splitting missile mechanic. Took a while to get through the defenses, but victory was eventually mine! Well done!

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:42am

Very cool, I liked the missile trails

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:45am

Cool twist on a classic formula. Pretty challenging, but a well-rounded result for a few starting late. Makes me think about missile bombardment from a micromanagement perspective.

cdata says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01am

I like the twist on this classic game :) nice work!

refrag says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10am

Super fun mechanic, but man it's hard to break through those defences!

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:26am

Reverse missle command? Fun but not great and definately not worth using unity for it

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:26am

Deceptively hard.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:49pm

This is a type of game where I'm happy to be on the villain's side. It would have be nice to have a loosing condition since with patience and a lot of missile we always win. Also I miss a small tune.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:04pm

A fun idea and great work for only a few hours! I like the split misslie mechanic but unfortunately i discovered it when i had already won!

ElScootro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Cool game. Would love to see this with different levels and upgrades!

sclark39 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:09am

Cool, the AI is tricked similarly to another game with an identical idea (shoot to one side, then one down the other). Without that trick though, the AI is pretty much impossible to beat! Good work, and thanks for rating my game as well. :)

leafo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:40am

Looks cool. Way too hard though. It was pretty much impossible getting a missile through.

This is also the first unity game I've played on linux, it just ran without me having to do anything!

gritfish says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:49am

Maybe a bit on the hard side, but since there's not really a lose condition it's not a big deal. Really, it's quite a clever game to do reverse-take on.

Robotic says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:30am

Short but enjoyable and very aesthetic

lotusgame says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Overall ok game.
Always nice to have another side on missile commander :]

Benjamin says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Fun game. The first hits are too difficult, maybe adjusting firerate to the base number would help to tweak the difficulty curve

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]