December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Elfie

by Pixelboy_85 - Jam Entry

*Move the Mouse around to Swing the Candy Cane!*

Elfie had a tough day at Santa's Shop...

Daria: Art Director / Asset creation
Tobias: Animations (Spriter) / Asset creation
Michael: Gameplay / Scripting (Construct2)

Lots and lots of Assets didn't make it in the game but we are happy that it's playable and hopefully fun.

Xbox Controller works but maybe not in all Browsers.
Best played in Chrome.

Have Fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#37Fun(Jam)3.55
#44Humor(Jam)3.42
#54Audio(Jam)3.47
#56Mood(Jam)3.42
#57Graphics(Jam)4.00
#105Overall(Jam)3.32
#179Innovation(Jam)2.78
#179Theme(Jam)3.22

Comments

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:04am

You have to "wiggle" with the mouse to hit with the candy cane!

tonithy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:09am

I liked it. Good fun. Switching weapons was nice.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:30pm

Thanks to Pixelboy_85 for the hint. I would not have played long without. I like the several weapons.

killmonday says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:33pm

Great game! The graphics were awesome, looked like a disney movie but with violence

master4523 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:40pm

The graphics/animations and the audios are really great, well done. The game was amazingly fun to play. Here's an awesome rating for an awesome game

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Thank you all for your patience. I updated the helpscreen. Hopefully this will clarify things.

gre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:15pm

Awesome. It was hard to find out how to hit other though.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Awesome graphics/animation/sound! I didn't really like having to move my mouse around to swing the candy cane, but I felt like that would easily work on a mobile device with touch controls. Still great work for such a short amount of time to make it.

galman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Hehe, fun game! I really like the guns :)

MaTX says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:43pm

Nice graphics!

Rialgar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:07pm

very much enjeyed this little elf-slaughter :P
A score counter would have been very nice

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:20pm

Try to use an Xbox controller, it makes the cane swinging easier. It doesn't work on the menus though.

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Haha, this is awesome. A score counter would've been nice, but other than that, this is really well done!

Van Merwan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Good scores in graphics, audio and mood for me. :)
I loved swinging the candy cane, I didn't like the automatic item pickup because the other items were less funny.

gnx says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:01am

Impressive rich environment with a lot going on without too much slowdown, very nice.
The mouse wiggling mechanic does get old really fast, just give us good old button for some candy-cane-to-the-face action :D

Also there doesn't seem to be any larger objective at play, which is a shame.
Anyhow solid impressive work on the presentation

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:25am

A little more context or variety would have been nice, but great game overall.

dray says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Nice game!
i found the first weapon hard to use, but the bow is worse for me on a laptop without mouse and my cat on the knees. Things get a lot easier with the cannon. well done

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:24pm

Please excuse the cat incompatibility :)

illugion says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:36pm

That was really cool XD whats up with the main character ? LOL

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:14am

He couldn't handle the pre-christmas stress and snapped.
We would have loved to flesh out the story and character,
but unfortunately we had no time for it.

aare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Actually very cute and nice game. I would prefer to swing the cane by pressing button rather by using mouse, but mabye it is just me

cardboard says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:39pm

That was very cool! I really liked the animated background and weapon variety, although the candy cane was sure to get me hurt. I wish there would have been a score so that I could keep track of how well I am doing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]