December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Little White Rabbit and the Goat Goatee

by Cabral - Jam Entry

In this family-crafted game based on a Portuguese folk story our grandmother likes to tell, you control a goat who must devour everything in a rabbit's home while avoiding his friends who are trying to stop your glutunous rampage.

We weren't able to get the sounds in there in time, but I did manage to add a voice-over of the story. Also, there were some issues with the collisions at the very end and now the ducks don't come out of the left side of the screen. Other than that, it's enjoyable.

UPDATE: The entry was made in Game Maker 8.1. If anyone owns Game Maker Studio and is willing to try and export it for Mac OS, we'd be more than glad to add it to the submission. I've been trying it myself, but now it keeps crashing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#212Audio(Jam)2.36
#226Humor(Jam)2.15
#245Graphics(Jam)2.65
#250Fun(Jam)2.39
#263Overall(Jam)2.61
#266Mood(Jam)2.35
#273Innovation(Jam)2.30
#275Theme(Jam)2.52
#711Coolness47%

Comments

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:56am

Not bad, I like the insight into the fables of other cultures. Not the greatest game here, but I'm glad I played it regardless.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Is it possible to get a Mac version of this?

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:22pm

I like the game. The story is nice and fits the theme(s). I liked that you had to tap the S key to nibble on the stuff in the home of the little white rabbit. Because you can restart quickly, it is quite addicting for a while, trying to beat your own high score. :)

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Cute names and was the little white rabbit omniscient? A little mastering on the voice recording would have taken away the backround fuzz/buzz but not to worry, it gave it a certain quality.

bentog says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:29pm

Fun game. Too bad there aren't sound effects or a song, but I understand sometimes there is no time left for that stuff. I like the story c: Nice art too!

pighead10 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:38pm

Really missed out on the sounds! The gameplay needs some balancing to make it challenging rather than frustrating. Making the enemies smaller would have helped.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:45pm

I like nursery rhyme idea, although perhaps you could have made it a bit shorter and snappier.

The game gets very difficult very quickly. Perhaps increase the number of enemies more slowly, and introduce one kind of enemy at a time so that players can get the hang of how to handle them. At the moment, before you even get a chance to think, there are 10 enemies bouncing around the screen!

The controls were generally good, but I think being able to turn more quickly in the air would have made it a bit easier.

Overall, nicely done!

Jiddo says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Nicely done. A cool game with an unexpected and interesting story. It is kind of short tho, and as previously mentioned it gets crowded real fast.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Can't play windows games...

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:02pm

great, I like games with your voice in! =)

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:58pm

Not the most innovative gameplay, but definitely a very unique idea in terms of storytelling. If you fancy yourself a programmer, next time challenge yourself to move on beyond Game Maker. We're all here to learn and keep pushing ourselves, after all. Keep up the good work!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:53pm

ermahgerd books...
... that was what I thought as I ate the poor rabbit's books. I like the opening and ending audio very much, hopefully without the background noise next time :)
The gameplay is solid. I hope you continue on this game and polish the graphics, add music and sound and add some gameplay mechanics for deeper play.

Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:56pm

I liked the story, and appreciated the narration, but found the gameplay to be pretty poorly balanced. Good job regardless!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:57pm

I really liked how you sandwiched the game between the beginning and the end of the story. Interesting eating mechanic which makes you have to earn the points. Overall, an enjoyable game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]