December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Zzard

by Peping - Jam Entry

Humans sent rover Curiosity to collect proof of life on planet Mars. You are Zzarg, purple Martian, with a simple mission: hide proof of life on Mars from Curiosity's sight.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#44Innovation(Jam)3.53
#69Humor(Jam)3.21
#71Audio(Jam)3.37
#75Overall(Jam)3.43
#103Graphics(Jam)3.58
#115Fun(Jam)3.06
#122Mood(Jam)3.00
#183Theme(Jam)3.19

Comments

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50am

I like this game. It's just not very fun. Everything else is in top form though.

I think the gameplay being so strict and pixel perfect takes away from the fun.

Jlebow says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:04am

Nice start. Great art. Could be fun with more time to polish.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:24am

I like how you handled the theme, very creative. Fantastic art as well.
The mechanics leave a little to be desired, and the levels could use some tweaking for difficulty. Nice start!

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Nice game.

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:06pm

haha, very fun =)

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:10pm

This is a great concept and I love the idea. Not really fitting directly with the theme - but who cares.

The graphics and audio are great. I can see you put in a load of work into the view paths and the wheels and instruments of the rover - it looks great.

My biggest problem with the game is that it's sooo slow paced. It would be fine as a default speed but really, you need a speed up button.

Ed Okonik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Good fun and nice original gameplay idea.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Some real pretty well polished menus and game art. Cheers!

master4523 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Slick and neat design. Nice audio and graphics too. When you die you get back to the main menu and "New game" is selected by default. Usually when I die and want to continue I'll just press Enter, but then I'll have to start over again from the first level, kinda annoying. Anyway, that was fun :)

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:05pm

@master4523 We thought that when player presses Esc, he doesn't want to retry...

@Starspell Slow paced? People usually complain gameplay is too fast... :D I think it's just right.

Anyway, thanks for all suggestions! :)

sev_inf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Awesome idea! I'm 100% sure that this is what really happens on Mars right now.

Aslai says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:22am

I thought that this game was very fun and well done, but it doesn't really fit the theme all that well. It would be nice if Curiosity gave some sign of where he was going to move before he moved though.

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:51am

Nice game, I was surprised (in a good way) at the objective, and I like it. However it gets old fast, and I wish I could glide along the rocks instead of having to carefully avoid them by fear of getting stuck.

Hume says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:22pm

Good job. Good idea and execution. Tutorial level is good. Hand drawn style is great. Although technically, the General is the villain.

I didn't see a way to beat the third level.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:36pm

It's pretty tricky, at least first time playing a level, because you have to predict where the rover will take pictures AND where it will move. Maybe a drawn on path would aid the player at least in the early levels? Concept and art are cool though.

Peping says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:32am

@Amos Wenger: Yeah, we will do that gliding thing next time. :)

@Humme: Technically, you are the general giving orders to Zzard. Like giving orders to units in Command and Conquer. ;)

About the hints of direction of the movement - it's part of a gameplay. You must guess the way Curiosity will probably go. When you are replaying level, you know where it is going and you can hide trash ahead of time. :)

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:07pm

very good start!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:25pm

hehe cool idea!, very fun!, nice work! :D

Joozey says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Well executed game! I enjoyed it until the end. Story could be a little more worked out, and the items in the levels could be a bit more varied, but great job as it is!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]