Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Balloon Frenzy 4: Turbo Edition - theRestlessTaxidermists - Jam Entry

Balloon Frenzy 4: Turbo Edition is a fun hardcore-casual game. Your character flies peacefully with his lovely balloon and want to get the farthest away from his annoyingly cheerful wife. BUT THE EVIL SADISTIC OTHMAR IS IN THE WAY!!! OH NO!!! GASP!!! HELL WE'RE DOOMED!!! DODGE THE BULLETS!!!

...But who's the villain?

View theRestlessTaxidermists's journal. | View all entries by theRestlessTaxidermists

Ratings

Coolness67%
#8Innovation(Jam)4.07
#11Humor(Jam)3.95
#26Theme(Jam)4.00
#83Mood(Jam)3.26
#96Overall(Jam)3.35
#154Fun(Jam)2.88
#203Graphics(Jam)2.98
#259Audio(Jam)1.47

Comments

RokB says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55pm

I actually really liked this. I loved seeing the way the player react like that and it was pretty funny. The reverse screen was a great touch too.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18pm

More like an interactive story than a game, but a very well done interactive story. Excellent! Quite original.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:20pm

big plus for backward text and great idea with video in the background!
game very simple though

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Love it! It's just too short...

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23pm

the reverse screen thing is pretty cool, and the gamer rage was funny.

Cosine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:55pm

Wow, this was really cool! Reminded me a bit of RaRa Racer by increpare. While it certainly wasn't an in-depth game, I thought it did what it did well, and I don't know what you should change, if anything.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01am

Great interpretation of the theme !

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:36am

cool but no sounds!

zimra says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:38am

Excellent idea, and the backward text was a nice touch !

tim_u says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:42am

Had a fun "ah-ha" moment when I understood the backwards screen. Great concept, great reactions. Hope you expand the game play portion. It'd be fun to have them (able to) make progress.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:59am

Thanks for those feedbacks !

"Hope you expand the game play portion"
Yeah, we would have loved too, but that was our first game, so we really tried to stick to our main objective : "Finish it".

But you're right, it could be really interesting to try something a bit more longer. But to achieve this we should find more actors, because we've already given everything we could, in our acting skills :D

Felix20 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:59am

Haha that was awesome, it was laughably easy to shoot the guy down, but that only made the player's reactions all the more justified.
This is one of the best uses of the theme I've seen so far :)

Jlebow says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:25am

Well done. Great interpretation of the theme.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:28am

simple, yet hilarious
I almost wish there was more to it, but at the same time its perfect

timtipgames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:59am

Very funny indeed. Would have loved some sound :)

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:29am

This is the best interpretation of the theme I have seen so far - this game really make you feel like a villain for enjoying seeing the furious face of the player :P

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:54am

Thank you all for your feedback!

I love how you mention the player you see in the background as "the player". That's the whole point. <3 to you all.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:47pm

Haha! I like to be the villain here, really fun idea!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:29pm

Great. I love the idea of playing the other side of the screen and the "player's" diffidently added to the fun, but I felt it was far too easy and far to short.

~AlucardX60

fishbrain says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:19am

lol!... excellent idea! well done!

hypp says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:16pm

Excellent! Great idea!

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:08pm

pretty coool

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Best entry for the theme, but I think you can put some other things like a decent AI

wombatica says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:33am

Excellent idea! enjoyed it. Don't think I've ever seen a reverse screen game like this. 10/10 for innovation

hnjslater says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:48pm

Really funny.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:38pm

@ArkadyDracul Thank you for your kind comment! About the AI, did you not play well? YOU are the AI! ;)

Thank you all, Internet people. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]