Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Rude Bear - Alex Rose - Jam Entry

Coded by Alex Rose @Vorpal_Games
Delightful illustrations by Antony Dewar @Panttts

You are Rude Bear. Your aim is to.. smash.. things and.. wreak.. generic havoc. Take that, society.

You're a British Gangsta youth yob whose only aim is to misrepresent bears amongst the animal kingdom.

It takes place in some deranged puppet form. It's vaguely like a running game, except you have full control of your character's direction, attacks, dodges, equipped weapon, etc.

This video shows a gameplay clip, that shows you the way for killing most animals, if that's helpful:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ijM7GhCjLBQ&hd=1

A few tips to help you in the early bits:
If you hold down left click, you'll keep hitting.
Right click/space (best for in the browser) dodges. You become invincible for a short time and jump back.

Each bad guy has a strategy to defeat them.

For instance, edge towards pigs. They only follow you after you hit them once, and they have 2HP. If you start hitting them from as far away as you can, they'll come after you, but they'll die before you land a blow.

Flamingos give SWAG, which is your health. They won't run until you attack them. Hit them in their middle and keep chasing to get them.

Bats can be hit on the middle of the wing, but can only hit from their body. The best way to take down a bat is to hit them twice, dodge and then hit again.

Beavers, ostriches etc. should just be killed as fast as fast as possible. They won't land a blow if you let them come to you and hit at the right time.

For guys with guns, wait until it says BANG and then they tilt back. Just before they tilt back, when the BANG reaches the gun, dodge. If you dodge at the very end of your sin curve then you won't get hit.

They're easier once you have full SWAGGER and you go faster.

For bears and boars, land one blow then jump back, then another hit before they get close. Much easier once you have a baseball bat.

Destroy bins with chainsaws and traps/beehives with a baseball bat to get extra SWAG too.

Then lions and cyberdemons are just a case of.. run back and hit slowly.

Ever monster follows one of those path types, so you can extrapolate for the rest.

Sometimes it's about getting a nice path with a lot of SWAG materia, but ultimately it can be done just with great skill.

List of creatures:

GRASS SPAWNERS:
Sheep - Docile
Goats (+1!) - Kill these for SWAG.
Punch Drunk Pigs - Policecop pigs who punch you.
Dark Knights - AKA bats. Should've called them Battymen in hindsight.
Ostriches - Swoop down.
Baseball Bats.
Army Boars.
Brown Bears.
Wide Load Pig - A pig with a pistol. Dodge when it says "Bang"
Flyin' Lions - Masked superheroes
Rocket Boars - Use Rocket Launchers.
Cyberdemons - He's the chief of police.
Trident Lions - If you meet one of these, you will die.

POND SPAWNERS:
Ducks - Docile
Flamingos - Kill for SWAG
Furry Beavers - Fast and annoying.
Chainsaw Beavers - ARGH. They do 3 damage.
Glockodiles - Use shotguns. Not glocks. Pretty OP. Just like in IRL. Execpt without the whole.. shotgun.. thing.

There's also bear traps, bins and beehives that you can destroy with weapons for SWAG.

Max out your SWAGGER bar to hustle. But don't get too cocky with it; you're not invincible.

When you right click (or space) to dodge, you are temporarily invincible though, so that's useful, but it has cooldown.

The chainsaw does 3 damage, but it's pretty slow. The bat does 2 damage and has good range. The claws are really fast but have low range and only do 1 damage.

#YOLO, but when you die you can REWIIIIIND to see how far you've come and restart the game. You'll also be told what killed you, how many kills you had and protips on beating what killed you.

With that in mind, I would absolutely love if you sent me a tweet if you got to a really spectacular monster or got particularly far. If people like this I might put a high score board on my site. @Vorpal_Games

Each monster seems fair, especially given that you'll have new weapons, but you should think about what weapon you use and when to dodge. If you play for a while you can get really good at dodging everything.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed making it!

View Alex Rose's journal. | View all entries by Alex Rose

Ratings

Coolness84%
#9Humor(Jam)3.96
#68Graphics(Jam)3.89
#72Overall(Jam)3.45
#78Innovation(Jam)3.32
#90Mood(Jam)3.21
#94Fun(Jam)3.15
#101Audio(Jam)3.20
#190Theme(Jam)3.13

Comments

jerrre says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:51am

Very Good and funny, really enjoyed playng this, only comment is it would be nice to have some sound fx so it is easier to notice if you are hit

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:54am

Yeah, I thought that about the sound effects, but I ran out of time before I could add any.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:07am

OK... SO... THIS IS AWESOME.
The 'puppet on a stick' art style is freakin' astounding. Well animated and hilariously presented. I love it. The attacking is a bit hard to understand and it needs some very obvious sound effects for cues and such. But yeah... awesome innovation here. Great entry!

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:05am

This has to be the most interesting graphics style I've ever seen, nice work

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:14am

What SonnyBone said. Everything about this game goes together beautify. Just needs a couple audio cues. Could play as this villain erryday.

blay09 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:14pm

I love the art style! I also liked how there are many different enemies, all of them having their own tactic to beat. The Protip thing when dying was a nice idea, really helpful (especially if you didn't want to bother reading the whole entry description before playing ;D). I agree with what the others said about sound effects, I was confused at first when I died because of a piggie-thing. Apart from that, very nice job, well done!

jujule says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:07pm

As a game, I don't know... But what a delightful experience. I clicked that mouse like a real MF G.
I gave you 5 stars on all artistic criteria.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:10pm

Really unique style :)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:17pm

haha!... graphics and sound A1!

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:52pm

Graphically unique. That bear is an epic character, really :)

jerombd says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Not really hooked by the gameplay but the original graphics(and the nice soundtrack) and the SwaGGG meter put a smile on my face:D

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Well that was amazing.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:30am

I can really appreciate the effort you put into drawing all those creatures. I also enjoyed the music and the way characters move (on sticks).

pereubu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Hilarious idea, i don't have anything more to say than what have been said by the others, great job D:

Kharza says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:28am

Haha this really made me laugh

caranha says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:00pm

This game has a lot of style! At first I was "WTF", and then I got into the swing of the bear, oh yeah!

But why is the bear coming out of the water? Is it a princess bear or something?

I liked the game! Only complaint is that the relation to the theme was kinda thin.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Caranha obviously doesn't know the villainy of #yoloswag

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:37pm

The whole game idea was actually built around the theme!

You're a gangster bear and you're killing innocent civilians, members of the police and army, superhero lions, vigilante bats and bears who think you've misrepresented their community (originally I was going to have a speech bubble pop up on a stick and say this, but I scrapped the idea).

And the reason the bear is "coming out the water" is because of this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frDamZjCbkI

I didn't expect anyone to get that, but it was funny to me. There's a lot of stuff like that in there.

Oreganik says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:31pm

Great potential! Little bug where holding down attack moved me down,seemed to affect my ability to hit, and better feedback would be key. Still! No game HAS EVER looked at the plight of the young and modern urban bear (YAMUB). Congrats.

vandriver says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:03am

ill

char68 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:10am

Wow, I am just blown away by the animations and design of the characters in this game. If there were any way I could give you higher than 5 stars on graphics I would do it. Absolutely amazing. I really look forward to playing more of your games in the future.

DTG says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:10am

Well crafted with an endearing aesthetic.
Interesting typography in the menus.
It is difficult to tell if you are attacking or getting hit at times, a drawback from your art style, perhaps sound effects could have aided with this too.

Ace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:43am

Very nice game, loved the puppet on a stick type of graphics, though it could really use a better attack system. Very confusing how to kill some of the enemies at first.

dray says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Wow, awesome game, why don't you have more review?! this game is so cool! yeah soundFX and feeback are missing, but not much to make it very cool!

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:49am

absolutely hysterical. the puppet theme is fantastic and the over-the-top hip-hop music just makes it perfect.

Floko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:38pm

The puppet idea was fun, but couldn`t really play it for long. It lacked a bit of feedback so i understand what`s happening . When I attacked , I didn`t really know if I was dealing damage or not. And when I was attacked, I didn`t knew when I was being attacked , and that made it really hard for me to understand when I should dodge or not...
the idea was awesome,but a bit more feedback would be nice =]

sclark39 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Player feedback in this is awful. I had no idea when I was getting hit vs. when I was successfully attacking. Graphics are amusing but I feel are part of the problem (since if there was an animation associated with attacking / getting hit, it would provide some better communication to the player). The audio was great, and I think the problems I have with it wouldn't be too hard to fix (by just adding some particle fx, sfx, and maybe some movable arms on the bear).

mangosarecool says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:55pm

this is so funny so many goats art is great nothing to complain bout this and the bear wears bling

Dec 25, 2012 @ 1:08pm

This is lovely! Also, nice choice of music :)

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:27pm

Love the stick-puppets motif. Really great work.

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Wow, this game is amazing! Awesome idea, funny gfx and good music. Thank you!

Although it needs a hit indicator.

Also I like how Rudey don't like to be evil. :)

Alex Rose says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:17am

The web version of this has now been relocated to http://vorpal-games.com/rude-bear-1/WebPlayer.html if anyone from the future wants to play it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]