Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Invasion

by markusfisch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're in command of a proud space fleet around a small noisy planet that keeps broadcasting aliens are slimy, disgusting and naked. How dare they?! Time to let this earthlings pay!

All of this was made sunday. Got almost no time this weekend. So graphics sucks and the game play is probably very much out of balance. Should be good for a quick play anyway.

Things I'd like to have implemented:
* Better graphics, background, explosions, fx.
* Different levels, decrease number of UFO's.
* Speech bubbles.
* Different weapons.

Instructions:
Click or tap to make the saucer accelerate towards the mouse cursor or finger. Hold down to give more thrust. Click/tap shortly to give only a little. Either try to find an orbit which is just fast enough to escape the missiles from earth while you shoot your lasers. Or try passing earth fast and close while doing fly-by-shooting. Turn around beyond missile range and repeat.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#367Innovation2.85
#392Theme3.15
#570Fun2.38
#572Overall2.62
#673Graphics2.08
#1102Coolness17%

Comments

zachstronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:18pm

That's really fun. The controls weren't obvious. Add some instructions to your entry post here! Once I got the hang of it, I really enjoyed the concept.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:33pm

This is fun,
but it's a little hard to be sure how to control...

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:36pm

Controlling the trajectory is quiet difficult, but the concept is nice. I think curves are changing too quickly in order to have a real control over them.

hypp says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Nice conecpt, but a bit hard

lucasncv says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:53pm

loved how you can control the ships, very interesting!

h.attila says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Fun idea, but I couldn't master the controls.

dray says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:28pm

Really fun game but really hard, it's difficult to not crash my ship on my other ships. The concept should be improved, the trajectory control + avoid missils and other ship is very interesting

tcql says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:56am

That was pretty cool ! I didn't understand the controls at first, but after figuring it out, it's a pretty fun little game

Beanalby says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:10pm

Loved the physics of flinging around the planet, and the displayed trajectory was a really nice touch.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]