December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry Alien

by mikkelin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the villain. Stocking up on food on measly planet Earth. Try not to get hit by a tank shell.

Using PlayN. My first Ludum Dare entry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#133Humor3.25
#240Theme3.48
#271Fun3.05
#301Innovation3.00
#398Mood2.71
#441Overall2.83
#454Audio2.14
#550Graphics2.43
#742Coolness46%

Comments

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:15am

That was fun - I think I won? The game restarted and I didn't get hit by a shell

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:33am

Nice idea!

mikkelin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:07am

@robashton
Yes, you will fly away from the planet (winning!) once you have collected ten animals. I didn't have time to implement proper UI/win screen. Well done!

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:21pm

Haha, nice little game! At first I was like "How the hell can I pick some animals? These tanks are insane!" but I found out proper tactics eventually. I WON :D

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Pretty good idea. I like the planet rotation mechanics. It's hard though!

sev_inf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Wish animals move towards a ship a bit faster.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:24pm

The lack of visible win condition kinda detracted from the game.

Beerman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:26pm

I won :)
Pretty fun - those tanks were total dicks, kept interrupting my dinner!

mikkelin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:19am

@Blodyavenger
Well done.

@nolacoaster
Thanks for the feedback. The game is too hard at first, then too easy once you get the hang of it. I didn't have time to tune gameplay properly.

@sev_inf
That's by design. But it would have been nice to have smaller animals move faster and heavier animals move slower. Maybe even be able to lift tanks and trees after a while...

@gameXcore
Thanks for the feedback. I agree.

@Beerman
Well done. I wanted to have tanks early on in development but were only able to put them in the game last minute. Wasn't a proper game until then...

Mago says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Nice little game, I found it little hard (one hit and you are dead).

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:46pm

Fun little game, loved your sounds.

hypp says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:12pm

I really liked this!

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Fun fun, tried to pickup the tanks but that didn't seems to work xD fun little game, kept me occupied for a while

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Cute! Funny sounds and graphics. Good execution of a fun idea.

mikkelin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:55pm

@Mago
Thanks for the feedback. I was thinking about having an energy bar or shield. Maybe allow the player to heal by scavenging tank wrecks... Didn't make it that far in development, though.

@h.attila
Thank you. I recorded the animal sounds in GarageBand on Mac, and edited the pitch there as well. The other sound effects were generated with as3sfxr.

@strong99
Yes, would have been nice to be able to pick up the tanks.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:26pm

Shame there was no on screen score. One hit death seems a bit harsh but other people said they completed it. Rotation is nice. I liked the insane reverb on the sound.

mikkelin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:03am

@bradleypollard
Thanks for the feedback. Yes, some kind of visual feedback on your progress in the game is certainly missing.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:50pm

that was hard, but fun :D

dray says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:00pm

nice game,
i have to admit, when i saw the spash screen, i thought it was a bad game, but it wasn't, art is curious but ok, you have a consistent style and grabbing animals is really fun.
Good job on your game :)

michax says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Ok graphics. Polished gameplay and nice SFX's! Some score would be nice or maybe some global task like gather 10 cows. Anyway, congratulation on finishing!

haxpor says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:25am

Ha ha, that's fun man! Love the concept of moving around the earth or ground like that!

mikkelin says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:27pm

Thanks for the positive feedback, guys! I might make a post-judging version with progress indicator or score.

Houly says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:13pm

Those bullets are a bit slow, the could be faster to make it more difficult. The graphics were a bit blurry, but somehow it was fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]