December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Super Goon

by Mista Koo - Jam Entry

Experience a day in the life of a goon. An art game with a "deep message."

Notes:
-This is my first LD entry ever.
-I can't actually make games.. yet.
-I work full time on Saturdays and Sundays (and Mondays).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#51Humor(Jam)3.35
#69Theme(Jam)3.76
#78Innovation(Jam)3.32
#145Audio(Jam)2.92
#170Graphics(Jam)3.18
#174Mood(Jam)2.78
#270Overall(Jam)2.58
#311Fun(Jam)1.86

Comments

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:29pm

I think it's a cool idea, but I couldn't figure out how to do anything except move!

Joncom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Very clever. I like it :)

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:44am

@nolacoaster That's the only thing you can do. Being a villain isn't always about being a badass killing machine that takes half of the screen, you gotta start small ;)
Notice how you aren't even a threat to the hero?

saguaro says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:15pm

I really like this.

Stavu says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:05pm

That's really funny! Took me a while to figure out all I can do is move, while all the heroes are passing me by. Awesome :)

Pitoum says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Ah ah! Awesome idea!
I just wish sometime one of the hero jump on our head and smash us to the ground :)

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:06pm

Very... existential. I'm still smiling, thank you :)

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:25pm

The idea it's good. I want to kill Mario!!! :-)

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:38pm

Yeah, always wondered how the life of an goomba must feel like :) Thanks for showing us!

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:59am

kinda funny, but that's about it.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:26pm

@Pitoum I wanted that as well, too bad I couldn't do it with my limited skills in limited time :(

Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Funny! Is that the Mario theme playing backwards? :D I find it hard to vote on this since it isn't really a game though...

Hatscat says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:35pm

lol, funny idea ^^

jerrre says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:39pm

When I found out what i was doing I really laughed

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:38am

@Frozen Fractal What is a game :P?

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:09pm

Hmmmm, interesting idea, but maybe you went a bit too far with the "deep" message? It would have probably been more interesting if the hero moved a little bit differently each time, so that the goomba would have some (false) hope that something would happen next time.

Cheers!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:12pm

While funny, it's not really a game.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:43pm

@cranha I wanted that, but couldn't do it with my skills and allocated time.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Funny! But of course, not much of a game. :) I still enjoyed it. The pause before the hero comes was just right.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:45pm

As with most games that call themselves "art" games, it isn't very fun. Still, it does make its point and you get to know what low-level villains feel like. Well done.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:52pm

@Spelchan I totally understand that but I wouldn't have been able to make a full game anyway.
Also it is only around 20 seconds long, not enough time to get bored :P

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:22am

I love it! The whole 'negative' feel to its appearance and music is awesome.

goerp says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:22am

someone mentioned the Mario theme backwards? Sounds funny.
Too bad you dont have more time. The movement is good, the graphics are good , you have collision, so all the ingredients for a game are there.
There is also a consistent retro look and feel which is good.
I'm curious what you could do with more time

Jacob says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Haha, love it!

I had a similar idea with my game actually :)

hissssssssss says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:28am

Clever! That moment when you've tried everything and realize that you're doing everything that you can do, and you're fated to watch heroes jump by for the rest of the game was funny.

Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:44pm

You sir just made the most humorous game I've played so far. Now I totally know how goombas do feel... and I do pity them : (

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]