December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lab's Lab

by HeXoT - Jam Entry

Requires XNA 4.0

Lab's Lab is game that encourages you to make you own maze and compete against others to run them as fast as possible.

Arrows to move while playing.
Left and right click to change tiles in the editor.
Escape takes you back to the title screen.
Just type in the title screen to change you nick.
Same in the editor to change the map's name.

You can check highscores in this web: http://205.185.123.227/ld/

Best times are recorded for each maze and displayed in the web.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#177Audio(Jam)2.69
#205Innovation(Jam)2.65
#256Overall(Jam)2.63
#259Fun(Jam)2.34
#270Humor(Jam)1.86
#298Mood(Jam)2.00
#306Graphics(Jam)2.06
#321Theme(Jam)1.76

Comments

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:39am

I can almost understand where the theme fits for this game, in that you are the "Villain" behind the maze, but....if I have to think about it that much, you didn't quite hit the mark.

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:44pm

I guess it's hard to uderstand it. It isn't obvious since you are not raping a princess after every level.

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:09pm

The level editor is neat. You can make a decent maze pretty quick.

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:33pm

well, does it really have a web version? I see a download link only...

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:25pm

Sorry for th confusion, we edited it to make things clearer.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:57pm

Can't play windows games...

zompi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:03pm

First this Ludum Dare game with network features I've seen. Really cool idea, now add some matchmaking and splitscreen :D
Ok, I'm joking but mazes are always fun.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:59pm

interesting, mostly because of the high scores implemented
are you suppose to be able to go across the traps?

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:11pm

@zompi That's good, network is the main point of the game. Matmacking o some competition would be great.


@moomoo112 Thanks. Traps only restrict movement in the opposite direction they point to. So if they point upwards you can still cross them right to left.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:09am

I like the web implementation to save maps and play them! that is really cool! nice work!

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:02am

Your game is quite unique in offering networking capabilities and a level editor, both of those features are rare among LD games.

Digiraze says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:39pm

Very neat idea

Fireblend says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:49pm

Well this is pretty ingenious and I love the web capabilities. Nicely done :D

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:31pm

crashed on start up :(

BrothersT says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:54am

Have to agree with TehSkull. Some more theming might help to sell the "you are the 'Villain' behind the maze" idea. Whether that would be art or story or something simpler I don't know, but I think it could use it.

I really like the idea of other people making levels. Other games which do this have features where the player rates the level they've just played based on fun, and the highest rated levels go to the top of the list, filtering the crap (which there's already a fair amount of clogging up the list)

Nice idea.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:55pm

Very brave to try a jam game with network capabilities! The game needs a game mechanic which challenges the player directly, like moving enemies.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:54pm

I like the idea of having a built-in editor but when I tried to draw I found that the editor was poorly designed. The tile you are drawing changes as you hold down the mouse button so drawing lines requires very quick mouse movements. a tile selection bar would have been much nicer as then designing mazes would have been easy. I think I have solved the theme issue. The You is the person who created the level editor as it is evil so the developer is the villain. A rather clever way of implementing the theme, actually!

firestorm713 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:17pm

Interesting, but I didn't see how it fit the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]