December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

JASPrincess

by dreamwalker - Jam Entry

Do you feel like a villain today?
Why won't you kidnap a princess? Be careful, there are a lot of guards. Any misstep and they will raise an alarm and beat you to death. If you are lucky, you will find some helpful items on your way.

Oh, you already got to the princess? Well, you need to get back to the entrance. Princess won't walk there by herself.

You think you will be bored from visiting same palace and kidnapping same princess over and over again? Now today. You'll never see the same one. Just pick some random palace and pay it a visit.

P.S. All the true villains already installed .NET and XNA. Don't wait for it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#44Fun(Jam)3.48
#97Theme(Jam)3.61
#115Overall(Jam)3.26
#136Audio(Jam)3.00
#165Mood(Jam)2.82
#168Innovation(Jam)2.84
#172Humor(Jam)2.54
#230Graphics(Jam)2.74

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:02pm

very nice game! congratulations! i love sound effects, where did you get them?
its a pity that you dont have to put source code :)
good luck!

dreamwalker says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:15am

Sound effects were taken on http://freesound.org/

hints says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:04pm

Fun game, although the enemies seem a bit brutal unless it's meant to be a stealth game. After playing for a bit, anytime I was spotted I just sat there and died so I could retry.

tumoxep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Very nice and fun but not so challenging.

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Cool procedural generation of the levels and nice concept. The game really needs to be balanced and tuned though, since right now it's very hard and there is really no much "stealth" in it.

Kuulog says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Fun little game, I liked the sound effects!

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Really interesting game. I loved how fast-paced it was. Nothing wrong with the game apart from the level generation. Some, in fact most, of the walls at the edges of the level did not meet the screen edge. This makes you think you can go through them when you can't. It's really frustrating to get caught out like that.

But a pretty fun game to play.

berareu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:02pm

Really fun game, great work! :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:11pm

Really fun but pretty easy

Verrazano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:27pm

A very well rounded and well polished, probably the most lacking side of the game was the art, but that was consistent and still not bad so pretty forgivable. You had audio and it didn't need music with everything going on. The game wasn't to challenging, but it was fun to replay levels. And the hud also had everything it needed to tell you - also a nice controls/gameplay guide at the begging I'm stealing that for next ld.

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:07pm

Very nice base for a game :)

Ed Okonik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:16pm

Fun game and I like the random generation.

D3zmodos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Very cool, very villainous. I love how the guards only come after you if they actually see you and not just if you're within a certain range of them.

maiev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Very cool maps. It seemed like a lot of effort was put into them. First tried the windows version and couldn't get that working.

h.attila says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Fun game, solid entry.

Madball says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:54am

A nice entry. Easy and fun to play. Though guards are too easy to kill or run away.
Highscores are ridiculous: my best is 19.

Jiddo says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:19pm

Cool game. The controls were good and the movement was really smooth. Much moreso then I've seen in most other games. The "alarm" was a cool and interesting addition to the game.

There were a bunch of places where it looks like you should be able to walk through, but you couldn't. The random and stronghold levels were kind of harsh as well, sometimes with a handful of guards spawning in asskicking range of you.

Overall, great controls, nice sound effects, decent graphics and entertaining gameplay.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:13pm

I like how the movement works here, nice work! :D i also like how the start menu looks :D

sclark39 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:52pm

Good sound fx, and interesting control scheme & attack. :)

Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:09pm

good game

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:36am

Simple and to the point with good sprites.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:13pm

Art was lacking but the game is pretty darn polished and a pretty darn good entry! Enjoyed it!

firestorm713 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:58pm

Fun! I would've put a little bit bigger text, but that's really my only criticism.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]