Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Hamster Poker - BiceMaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

View BiceMaster's journal. | View all entries by BiceMaster

Ratings

#25Humor3.83
#213Fun3.15
#1012Coolness26%

Comments

BiceMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Forgot to add instructions in the notifications area, darn.

Simple Windows only poking game where you harvest a little creatures energy for your own winning. <Space> pokes, <1-3>
buys you upgrades to your harvesting gear. Selle enough energy, and you'll win. If you don't poke the little fellah and let him generate energy in his own pace, you'll lose. Bad guys are bad guys...

Made with GameMaker free edition, paint and audacity.

Marco Jonkers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:09pm

Haha, funny little game :)

fuopy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Very cute game! It seems like a perfect game for FuckThisJam, making fun of the upgrade genre. One thing I might change is using the space bar for poking, I've ruined space bars on a few keyboards by mashing them too much :)

rinaka says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Interesting game, very grim. I've heard of energy harvesting but this is new :P Is it possible to kill the hamster from overworking?

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16pm

I enjoyed taking every little inch of energy from that wretched animal! Bwahahahaah!

Nice entry, played it through the end at the expense of my space bar. :D

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

Ramuh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Haha this was pretty cool.

Diamonde says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:04pm

Incredibly simple and pure joy :D

Joozey says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:40pm

Very nice idea. The prospect of getting upgrades kept me playing. Gave me a good laugh. Would have liked to see a bit more variation and choice of upgrades. I expected a next level with a bigger animal :). Overall nice little game!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:46pm

Only seemed to want to run in super low res (smaller than the screenshots) and it seemed all I could do was poke? It was fun enough lol - but I wanted more!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]