December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Noir Game

by epiplon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Noir Game is a black-and-white 2D stealth-action shooter, with red blood where are the dead ones.
You play as a thief, trying to steal a rich man's money and killing his guards, as you fulfill you evilness.

Launcher.bat to open the game.

Controls:
- Directional arrows move player left and right.
- Z shoots (only in the spotlight).
- Esc quits the game.

Make sure to read the README.txt for useful information.
Linux version coming soon, stay tuned!

Edit: Music removed due compo rules infringement. I'm terrible sorry, it wasn't my intention.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#112Mood3.32
#172Innovation3.29
#202Audio2.93
#254Theme3.45
#402Graphics2.84
#406Overall2.90
#417Fun2.74
#644Humor1.74

Comments

delpes says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:21pm

Like the 'noir' setting of this game. Pretty hard after the 5th screen. Would have been nice if you had something to distract at least one of those guys :)

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:45pm

I like the concept of a shooter that is based on paying attention instead of just pure reflexes. The difficulty was just right.

BNeutral says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:54pm

A cool mechanic.

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:41am

Really fun and interesting mechanic, certainly added a nice touch to a relatively simple (though fun!) game.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:57am

I felt like a large part of the game was spent waiting on random chances to occur. Not my style of twitch gameplay.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:07am

Really challengine game, but one of the more innovative mechanics I''ve seen thus far. Played to the end and enjoyed it.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:45am

Nice, I do like ^.^

MichaelJLong says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:25am

Awesome entry, hi from AGDG.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:42pm

Nice mechanic, but I felt I was waiting too much for a lucky sequence of rand() calls to run. Good setting with appropriate music and using minimal gfx effectively to create atmosphere.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Black-and-white art style worked well here.

Ed Okonik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:30pm

I can't open the ZIP file. Tried downloading twice, but not working for me.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Cool! I liked it. The end was interesting. I probably got the "bad" ending though just because I wanted to see what would happen.

kannas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:18pm

i enjoyed this game a lot. you don' t get the prize do add the overly used "over 9000" on the evilnexx index, though...

ThomasRyder says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:56am

I pressed 'Z' but the guy wouldn't shoot

epiplon says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:18pm

He only shoots in the light.
The README.txt have useful information about history and gameplay, so check it out! If you have any additional problem, post it here.
Sorry, I had to rush the game so I put further information there.

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:24pm

I liked your idea that you can only shoot if you are in a light area. Stylish graphics, too.

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:10pm

I liked the idea =)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:06am

A decent game with a cool mechanic.

One thing though. Unless I misread, it says in the README that the music was composed by a friend. I think that means this should have been in the jam, not the competition, since the latter is solo only.

epiplon says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:29am

Yes, you're right. I didn't thought this at first and I read the rules. Really sorry for this, I can remove the music, even that so many days had passed.

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 4:37am

The mechanic here is a bit weak. Requires split second timing and lots of patience once you start dealing with multiple victims. Frustrating in that you have to be very precise and lucky in order to prevail, and it doesn't seem to depend very much on your skill, or strategy.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]