December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

EXTREME BURGLARY

by dKav - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A stealth based game where you have to steal from various places and avoid the cops!

Controls: WASD to move, QE to rotate the camera

You can also right click and drag the mouse left/right to rotate the camera, but it's a bit buggy. It works best if you just hold down the right click and never release

Goal: Find the buildings with yellow circles, stand in the circle to rob the place. Rob the required amount of places and then run back to the start. Avoid the cops!


Created using Unity Pro (Thanks for the extended trial!)
Total time spent: Around 15 hours.
Music created with http://www.inudge.net/
SFX/Music edited with Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#75Theme3.90
#119Fun3.40
#167Overall3.37
#245Mood3.00
#272Graphics3.17
#332Innovation2.93
#437Audio2.19
#507Humor2.10

Comments

refrag says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:07am

Good core mechanic.
Level 2 opened up way too wide. It was too steep for me.
Having me viewing the whole map as well as fairly dumb AI didn't make me nervous as stealth game typically would.

Saisaith says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11am

This was pretty enjoyable!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13am

Level 2 was epic. And level 3. The "freeze" sent shivers up my bone! Great job! :D

ecool377 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34am

I liked it alot!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:54am

Good concept and solid start. :D I like how everyone was a plain cylinder, yet the flashlights made the police completely transparent -- never had to wonder which way they were facing. Would have been nice to have camera controls and movement on separate hands, though.

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:56am

It was a very good stealth game, the AI was dumb, and that's what made it a challenge.

Hume says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:16am

Level 2 broke me, but I had fun.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:23am

Thumbnail doesn't do it justice

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:26am

I really like stealth games like this. I wish the controls were a little easier though.

dKav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48am

Sorry about the controls everyone! I should have let the user set them instead of forcing you to use my scheme. I'll make sure to remember to do that for the next LD.

dKav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:51am

Oh, I'll also try to setup a timelapse for next time as well, in case any of you are curious :)

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:22am

Lots of fun. Although, I stood at the first burglary point far too long, expecting something interesting to happen.

Winterblood says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:03am

Nice stealth game, quite similar to mine :) Not keen on the camera and movement being controlled by the same hand, and the police were a bit too easy to shake. Enjoyable though, played it through to the end.

pillbrain says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:56pm

That was really good, very well executed, enjoyed the flash lights and how the police chased you.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:40pm

Very enjoyable, like a mini Thief, well done! Controls have been mentioned, I liked the simplicity of the design actually.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:25pm

Lights on the cops is a really nice touch so it's easier to see if you're about to be spotted. I liked it

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]