Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Event Horizon - SelectricSimian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as the Ultimate Villain - a black hole! In this fast-paced arcade game, a fleet of ships is sent to stop you before you suck all goodness out of the universe. Through your cunning use of gravity, propulsive ion jets, teleportation, and powerups, destroy the ships by smashing asteroids into them.

Thanks for playing my game! Don't forget to vote!

Made with Lua, Moonscript, and Love2D for MacOSX and Windows.

tips for windows users:
-- you must extract the contents of the zip before playing
-- you must not move the executable away from the folder it's extracted to (shortcuts are okay)

View SelectricSimian's journal. | View all entries by SelectricSimian

Ratings

Coolness82%
#19Innovation4.04
#49Overall3.72
#58Graphics4.00
#71Audio3.38
#81Fun3.50
#178Mood3.16
#563Humor1.99
#598Theme2.62

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:10am

awesome

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20am

nice job

LeCherLich says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33am

very nice game idea AND very well executed!

solidplasma says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33am

Very impressive, and slick. Slightly unclear how to play at first, though.

pfirsich says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:35am

This is absolutely great. This is why I participate in this.

Zillix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:42am

fantastic. great aesthetic and implementation.

netgrind says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:21am

That was a fucking sexy as hell hexagon effect you had going on.

Datw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:21am

Nice, altough a bunch hard to play.

feiss says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:21am

great job, loving the hexagons

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

Very good! Spot on with the art direction and coherency, and interesting gameplay.

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34am

Amazing concept and very polished!
Suggestions: Can i be gentler to the eyes without sacrificing the cool hex graphic style? Also an easy level to start would be good.

How are they even hurting a black hole anyway? :)

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:51am

Very hard to master, very visually appealing. Hard to believe it was a 48-hour.

karlin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13am

Really pretty game and a great concept too. Found it a little difficult though, although I'm generally not great at this kind of game.

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:16am

Difficult but really neat game! Visuals at the end made me sick, but really nice looking and background music hehehe.

ripter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:18am

Very fun! It took a few tries to figure out the controls and how the game works.

metadept says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:19am

Excellent. Graphics and sound (and gameplay) are simple but very well polished. Controlling the asteroids accurately is quite challenging!

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:50am

You had me at hexagons.

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05am

Very well done. Definitely one of the best so far.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31am

Hey, friend!
Very incredible, had me hooked for half an hour with a final score of 2:27!
Controls are hard to learn, but once you get the hang of them they are brilliant.
Music is way too catchy. Seriously, music is WAY too catchy.
This is INCREDIBLE. I absolutely ADORE it.
You, sir, have earned a PERMANENT spot on my hard drive. :3

arkeus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36am

Very cool!

leafo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:43am

Really cool game idea. The entire thing is nicely polished as well. Great work.

Also glad to see someone else writing games in MoonScript! ;)

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:58am

very cool, very addictive, very gorgeous.

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06am

Great idea.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:09am

Pretty original with nice and simple graphics. Really good job.

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36am

Really unique gameplay idea! And you're only thirteen? Very impressive; well done.

TomK32 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:46am

It's loud, fun, quick. Great game but please get this destroying ships a little easier. Using astroids worked once or twice a round for me.

Cy4n1d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:53am

really really nice. :-)

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10am

I click "Instructions" and read "You are a black hole". What an epic way to start.

Took me a while before I understood how the green and red areas work (which is impressive considering I did read the instructions).

Very well done. My favorite so far :)

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:15pm

Awesome idea and graphics. Not the best audio, however.

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:36pm

Although I didn't feel very villainous, the concept is ace ! oh, and that effect is wonderful, especially with the blue explosions. Will you blame me if I ever attempt to copy it ?

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:53pm

Great game! Very fun, polished and hard to master.. a bit hard control scheme, I think it may be easier if the rotation was changed by a mouse cursor (in direction of mouse)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:54pm

>>Very impressive, and slick. Slightly unclear how to play at first, though.

Agree with this statement. Nice job though. Very slick and well done. There's something here that warrants you developing this further. Really cool visuals and music, imo.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Very fun, although I feel the black hole should have move slightly quicker so as to allow the player to easily kite the mobs.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:15pm

Very nice game you made, Awesome graphics.

frogmaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:48pm

Wow! New masterpiece. One of the games I will be playing long after Ludum Dare :)

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:22pm

I do like the concept, but I only see asteroids like once every dozen ships, so I can't get much out of the traction mechanic.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36pm

Fun game =)
I like idea with black hole. It's really unique.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Quite a challenge to play, but fun once you get the hang of it...

jahlgren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:42pm

The game is simple but fun :)

pbdiode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:49pm

Had some problems playing it: trying to unzip it on OSX (Mountain Lion) results in a .cpgz file and using unzip from the command line results in this error message:

Archive: event_horizon MacOSX.zip
End-of-central-directory signature not found. Either this file is not
a zipfile, or it constitutes one disk of a multi-part archive. In the
latter case the central directory and zipfile comment will be found on
the last disk(s) of this archive.
unzip: cannot find zipfile directory in one of event_horizon MacOSX.zip or
event_horizon MacOSX.zip.zip, and cannot find event_horizon MacOSX.zip.ZIP, period.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:16pm

The new (if slight more complicated) super hexagon! Great!

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:28pm

Very fun. A bit bland and something I wouldn't play again, but fun nonetheless. Also, the difficulty seems to ramp up far too quickly.

Tapestry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Awesome game, good job!

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Really cool game with a new, fresh mechanic. That menu effect is some slick stuff, and the gameplay itself kinda reminds me of Hexagon (not just because of the background).

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Very cool graphics and sound. The gameplay is hard to catch on the first time. After that is becomes even more fun!

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:56pm

Very cool, and new. Not sure how villainous I feel though :P

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:57pm

This is a hard one to get the hang of. The trick seems to be to get the asteroids as close as possible for as long as you don't need them, and then proppel them away. I love the visual style. It's very original too.

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:51am

Fun game! The art style is lovely - it looks great!

soupy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:27am

This game is amazing. It's just what a 48 hour game should be: compact, fun, with excellent presentation, and a reason to keep playing. I wish the asteroids moved a little faster, though.

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:32am

Nice game, I love the concept - Id suggest changing the colours, anyone with red/green colourblindness might have a bit of a problem!

drewfitz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:43am

WOW. What a great game! I'd love to see this expanded into a more full-featured game.

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:23am

Beautiful :)

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:30am

Looks brilliant! Rather tricky but I started to get the hang of it.

saampahlavan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:29am

Visuals are pretty cool. Super Hexagon inspired? hmmmm

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:19am

really fun interesting idea. crazy hard though

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:18pm

Great game really liked it mostly sucked at it but what can i do 5/5

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:42am

Its visually amazing! I love it

Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:08am

Great idea, compelling execution.
It took me about 5 tries to feel confident with the controls and mechs; and then you get the pleasure of control on controlling the asteroids. Very fun.

mokujin says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Hard to play, but fun) Innovative gameplay

sPe says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:00pm

Had few disturbing game stutters but the gameplay is very interesting and tactical.

Benjamin says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:52am

Good concept and fun control. The asteroid spawn sequence is very chaotic. I guess that half of them starting in red zone is the problem. Maybe that gradual power for red ( repel ) could be the solution, in sort of in a max distance every hex turn green. Not sure if I'm understandable...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]