Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sleight of Hand

by anotherlim - Jam Entry

You are the villain:

You and your loyal kobold minion rob the poor people of Ludum.

Distract the curious victim on the left with your charm and skills while your Minion performs some sneaky sleights of hand.

Use the mouse to follow the path of the diamond in order to keep the victim distracted. Meanwhile use your other hand to type in the words at the top to perform the criminal act.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Innovation(Jam)3.88
#32Theme(Jam)3.96
#37Mood(Jam)3.55
#49Audio(Jam)3.52
#65Graphics(Jam)3.92
#98Humor(Jam)3.00
#105Overall(Jam)3.32
#146Fun(Jam)2.92
#670Coolness49%

Comments

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Strange game, thats a good thing :)
I ust say, it took me a while to read the text under to understand the game :)
Good luck and nice coding

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Rather minimal, but has great graphics!

illugion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25pm

That art style was really unique and the gameplay was quite interesting, it was hard to concentrate on both hands while looking at the screen, i liked that game !

Spierek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25pm

The hitbox of the "device" could've been a bit larger, but the game is quite solid. Loved the audio.

zimra says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Nice idea ! I didn't have to follow the path with the mouse though, just clicking on the gem when he stopped moving (then again, it may be 'cos I use a stylus, not a mouse).

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Loved it! Great audio and a nice mechanic. I couldn't seem to "win" or fail though.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Hehe, I found terribly difficult to write anything while moving the mouse! xD Nice graphics, nice music and nice game!

Joncom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Great graphics. Very cool concept. Challenging and fun. Yet, it seemed to go on forever. What happens when the shield moves all the way to the right? Nothing as far as I could tell.

Joozey says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:30pm

Good graphics, audio, matching theme, funny voices and innovative gameplay! I'm missing scores, possibility of failure, and my laptop doesn't feature both trackpad and keyboard use (no idea why) so its either typing or tracking the diamond for me. All in all nice setup, it is just missing a goal.

drizzlybear says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:34pm

Seems like the web link above is down. :| Wanted to play this one. :D

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:48pm

I loved this game! I liked how you combined thematic graphics and music together. Voice acting really fits in the there as well! Too bad you can't win (or can you?) Interesting mechanics using mouse for coordination and keyboard to type letters - it's not that simple. BIG PLUS from me :)

PaulSB says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Intersting concept, and it looks great! Was definitely tricky wrestling with the two activities. Could do with some feedback, and indeed the timer seemed to run out with no effect.

strong99 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:09pm

This quite a hard game! Typing those letters and moving the mouse along the path. I cheated with my pen tablet :3 I like this innovative idea!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:51am

Fantastic graphics! Lovely lovely mood. And robbing a man blind, using a Bosch-inspired henchman, wow! Kudos to no end

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:53am

I just had to play it again because of this charming mood! ^^

anotherlim says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Thank you all for your feedback! The game was indeed not finished and there was no way to lose, the game did not end and the "score" wasn't tracked.
We continued working on it and were able to implement most of the features now. Check out the new version on: http://oldtrigger.com/sleightofhand/dev
The version for the jam entry is not being changed of course.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:17pm

Love the art. Maybe a bit repetitive withe the mouse, would be great to diverse it!

01101101 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:16am

Very strange but one can feel some good ideas.

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Great graphics and audio - the game didn't seem to end though? Excellent, experimental, innovative... I love to see games like this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]