December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Defend Your Treasure

by tobbez - Jam Entry

Defend your treasure from the adventurers trying to reclaim it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#126Fun(Jam)3.00
#182Mood(Jam)2.75
#196Theme(Jam)3.09
#205Innovation(Jam)2.65
#233Overall(Jam)2.74
#288Graphics(Jam)2.30
#742Coolness46%

Comments

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Pretty cool, especially when I came back to this page and noticed that there was an upgrades button in the game (no idea how I missed that the first time).

Managed to pummel a few heroes with upgraded spike traps.

Would be great to have feedback on how long your spike your traps are going to last, and how much the upgrades and traps are going to cost. Also the attacks might be better broken up into waves so you have more of a sense of achievement for holding them off.

I liked the way they hurled themselves at high speed around the level, scrabbling towards your hoard! :)

rubna says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Great game! Too bad there's no sound though. And that it just goes on forever. Maybe you could work in a timer, and when that ended, you would have won? Well, great work anyway!

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Nice concept! I wish there was a little bit more challenge though. I started placing boulders in the bottom right corner and nothing could ever get past there since everything had to go through that point.

eShredder says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Great game. The concept is pretty straight forward so the lack of instructions doesn't really matter. Although, you could have added some kind of info for the different items or at least have the player to know the prices of the items and upgrades.

kato9 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:31pm

Haha, pretty nice. The pace of the game seems overwhelming at first, but when you get the hang of things I think it actually become a bit too easy. Still, nice work!

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:21pm

I liked the game. Was good fun. But relatively easy. Place a few balls at the first hole, and you win :/ If you adjust the difficulty, it could last much longer and be a lot of fun :)

Mase says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:28pm

How eagerly they rush to their doom.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Fun game. :D

dredlockz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:33pm

really nice concept, there are some really easy exploits once you start ranking some gold, but its still a lot of fun!

Sim says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:33am

Fun little game, I like the way the enemies manage to find their way around. Putting a load of boulders at the bottom right turns everything entering into a fine paste :)

As others have mentioned, having waves and being able to win would add a lot.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:44pm

This is great fun! At first I was making money fast enough that I thought things cost a negative amount of money... but burning all of my gold on dozens of rolling rocks taught me better :)

Once I've got a ton of rolling rocks the game pretty much can't be lost until the gradually scaling flood of adventurers becomes entirely insurmountable. High marks any way! I really like this. Well executed, super fun. With some more game balance, or perhaps goals/waves/levels I can see this being a great game, not just a great jam game :)!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:03pm

I liked setting up the dungeon. There were a few issues: I found it hard to tell when I was going to be able to place another obstacle; is it time based or gold based? Then, at some point I was able to place unlimited spikes; each one would give me MORE money. Then it was easy to just fill up the screen with them, except that while I'm typing this review the game ended with "GAME OVER HEROES WIN" even though I had like 999999 golds. I think that's just a bug. Anyway, I think it'd be improved with some goal or way to win each level!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]