December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Skeletal Archer Archie

by Nisshoku - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play Archie, a sympathetic skeletal archer in his quest to make contact with a nearby human village. Things don't always go so easy.

A real time unit micromanagement game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#100Graphics3.78
#164Humor3.13
#288Overall3.13
#310Fun2.94
#324Mood2.86
#403Theme3.13
#486Innovation2.60
#930Coolness33%

Comments

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43pm

Bestest game.

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44pm

Tenouttaten.

fhoenig says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:10pm

Can you make it work on Mac/Web?

Joncom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:28pm

Love the art style!

juxiliary says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:35am

Nice, pretty easy though.
Ran on linux by adding the just using the linux natives for lwjgl. Assume the same would work with mac.

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:13pm

The game was way too easy :3 only click space and I won. But I enjoyed it! And the story telling is nicely done. Didn't feel like the villain though :P poor skeleton was the victim :(

Maristak says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:52pm

Love the way this game looks & works. Good job

Gobo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:16pm

When running the .bat file I get this error:

>java -Djava.library.path="natives/" -jar SkeletonAr
cherArchie.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/monsav/Ru
nGame : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Could not find the main class: com.monsav.RunGame. Program will exit.

Cyboot says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:49pm

good game with some pretty nice graphics. Maybe a little to easy, you win without doing really anything.

Joozey says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:17pm

I like the game! Didn't get enough visual feedback to understand that what I was doing had any effect. Got the feeling that I just could press space, and I would win anyway. Good graphics and great that it is actually a fully completed game!

gesangbaer says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:58pm

I got the same error as Gobo.

gesangbaer says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:01pm

Gobo: Googled a bit, we are likely using an older version of java than Nisshoku did. You'll have to install the latest version.

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Thanks for your feedback everyone! I'm aware the game is too easy, I regret that I didn't have time left to balance more. :(

Gobo and gesangbaer, thanks for reporting. I recompiled the game using Java 1.6 now rather than 1.7. It should now run with older versions of Java too. :)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:19pm

A bit unfortunate you can complete most of it without pressing anything, but otherwise nice art.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:22pm

Very nice! Would have been nice to have had even some very basic sound fx, but very polished in the graphics and implementation side. Well done! :)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:40pm

That's a pretty good game, I liked the idea, and the story. First entry with humour that actually made me smile :)
I also had some problems with launch, solved them by changing "java" in .bat to full path to "java.exe", hope that helps someone

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:41am

I updated the package so that you now can run without the batch file, took some time for me to figure out what was the problem. Didn't change the game contents of course. Thanks again for the feedback!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:23pm

I like the graphics! nice work on the game :D

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:43pm

Liked the graphics. The game more or less seemed to play itself, and my interaction didn't seem to matter much. Couldn't beat the big battle where the whole village came up though, lol. I liked the narrative style of the monsterous not-really-bad guy who just wants to be left alone.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Liked the story. Game play was a bit lacking as pretty much the game played itself. The final battle, however, was very tough and took me 3 tries before I was finally able to get rid of the healers so my monsters would have a chance. You should have some final story page that concludes the story instead of just dumping you to the title page after all the effort of winning the final battle (or if you did you need to make sure it isn't clicked past before it is seen). I really liked how you played off the fact that you are the villain because of what you are not what you do.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]